We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good restaurant”
Review of Pate's Restaurant

Pate's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good restaurant”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A recommended by our hosts (chatham guest house) restaurant, renowned for meat but with lobster good quality too. Hearty portions, wine a good price / quality ratio and very nice service. A restaurant regulars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladycam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    30
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant would earn five stars except that we were given a table in front of the grill. It was hot and noisy. Also I had to beg for a refill of my water glass and then it was a long time coming. Otherwise the food and service were excellent. My baked haddock was flavorful, moist and very obviously fresh. The crispy assorted, julienne veggies, which I substituted for a starch, were equally tasty, crisp and delicious. Accompanied by a small loaf of warm wheat bread it was a perfect meal. My husband voted his baked scallops to be on a par with the ones from our favorite restaurant on the Outer Banks of NC. restaurant and that is high praise indeed. His hot fudge sundae and my snowball (ice cream rolled in coconut on a bed of hot fudge) were sinfully delicious. Ask for a table away from the grill and this experience will be perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Read mixed reviews for Pâtés and decided to give it a try.Glad we did .Sunday night seated promptly and waited right away by Nicole.Water and warm bread was presented before ordering. Grilled swordfish with rice pillaf , perfect.
The other was prime rib .The menu or service did not state size of portion when it came out it was huge done to perfection.
This restaurant seems to draw an older established crowd but who cares we would def go back.
We felt the cost of the two entrees 1 glass of wine and a side dish to be very fair

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank boobooCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Been going every summer for 30 years and still tremendous”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Can't say enough about this old reliable gem. Although the atmosphere of old oak paneling makes it a rather dark eating experience, the quality of food and service is first rate.First, note that they don't play that "market price" game with the price on their 2 lb lobster; the price is printed on the menu!! Their steaks, chops, lobsters are all first class. Although they don't take reservations, the wait is never killer. Enjoy your dinner

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usedtobegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing exceptional”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It started with a disappointing Bloody Mary that was strong enough but seemed to be tomato juice and liquor only. The bread they bring to the table is warm but has no substance or flavor. The food was fine but doverpriced for it's mediocrity. the place was full. The best part was our host who was pleasant and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank needlegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pate's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pate's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing