We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled into the "nice corner seat"”
Review of Pate's Restaurant

Pate's Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled into the "nice corner seat"”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I'm sitting here with an air con unit dripping on the seat beside me, the "great seat" offered when we arrived with a kid.... The other seats look ok and there are large family groups, so probably the "tourist with child" seat.
Clam chowder was provided with a piece of what looked like plastic at the bottom ( discovered as I ate it), but the waiter took it away and assured me it was a piece of onion skin. Hard to argue when he had removed it. Fairly decent poached Salmon then provided without the sides..."should I bring it now?" he asked when I pointed this out. Er, yes please.
Wife had vichyssoise which was good.

Pretty sure it was a busy/off night. Would rush to experience unless you run out of options in Chatam.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fearanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    30
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
312 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great host, stuffed lobster but...”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Like a throwback steakhouse from the 1970s. Friendly host, waiter was slow, filet mignon had zero taste. Stuffed lobster was excellent. Dinner took a few hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I went in and he ordered the steak and I ordered chicken teriyaki. It was amazing! It came with baked stuffed potatoes, which were perfectly baked! The atmosphere of the restaurant is formal sit-down, and is done well. The red lighting makes for a great romantic atmosphere. The staff was very professional. I will come back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The person at the grill do not know how to cook steaks”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A party of five ate here recently and we were all unimpressed by the quality of the cooking here. We ordered three different cuts of steak, one medium rare, and two medium. The medium rare came well done, and we asked our server to notify the kitchen. One of the mediums came medium rare, and the other came medium well. The offered nice thick cuts of steak but getting such a crapshoot for steak doneness is fatal for a steak restaurant! Our server was friendly but was overworked and extremely busy. Nobody from the kitchen came to take a look, apologize, or to offer to take the well-done steak off the bill. Was recommended highly by a local, but we came back extremely disappointed, especially for the price ($26 for a steak). Also, a glass of red wine ordered was vinegary and had most likely been opened a long time ago. We will never go back or recommend this to a friend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiderunner00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Service and average food”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our waitress was really friendly and the service was good but the food was average. The steaks seem to be overcooked as standard and even a rare request comes back burned. The seafood is reasonable but not fantastic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michealCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pate's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pate's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing