We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly rated, a bit of a letdown”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pisces Restaurant

Pisces Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly rated, a bit of a letdown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this place way overrated by others, found the selection of fish to be mediocre in an area endowed with so much fresh catch coming in each day and were mostly unimpressed by any of the entrees. I had a Portuguese-style fisherman's stew that was pleasant, not anything more than that. My wife had the chowder and it was not at all robust, rather dilute in seasoning and intensity of the lobster broth. An untrained person placed the utensils on our table while holding on to the tines of the fork and blade of the knife so that they would face the right way after putting them down. Not a fatal error, just a bit disappointing again based on the lofty ratings by others.
One pet peeve and it is actually routine in most restaurants, including this one. We are patrons. This word also refers to the expression on our faces as in patronized when a restaurant holding your reservation almost always tries to stick you in the worst seat in the restaurant first, then makes you beg/negotiate to get to a better spot. They assume you are too passive or stupid to react. Maybe restaurateurs get away with this often and reserve the better seats for the wealthier or better known patrons??? It sits poorly with us but is pretty routine. Patrons patronized.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Palatedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    36
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We were disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

It did not meet our expectation. The restaurant and its food is overrated. We booked long before.
The restaurant was noisy, the athmosphere nill. We wished, we would have gone anywhere else.
We had Cod, which was expensive and boring. As a Gourmet I expect better. Forget this busy restaurant and go anywhere else!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargitandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This wonderful little restaurant in South Chatham serves a reliable menu with many fresh seafood options. Portions are generous - I typically order an appetizer and salad or the half order of risotto and salad. Make your reservation 1-2 weeks in advance during the summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I try to get to Pisces at least once during the summer season. The food and service is always great. This year we were so disappointed, it will be coming off our "must visit and/or recommend list" We had an early reservation at 6:00pm and were back in our car on the way home at 7:10. Our attempts to slow our experience down did not work.

The food was delicious, but honestly all we talked about with family and friends was our horrible service experience.

My husband enjoyed his lobster ravioli and I my cod. We thought the strawberry shortcake was the best we ever had. Our server asked for our valet ticket when dessert arrived. Not much of a dining experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srugnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chef-run delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The attraction here is the food; the restaurant itself is small and somewhat cramped (but pleasant enough). A group of eight, we shared appetizers and tried each others' entrees, so we got a good sampling. Mussels (as we had heard) were excellent; but the calimari was out-of-this-world tender and flavorful. My wife was disappointed that her cod came with snap peas instead of the mix of summer vegetables advertised; but the fish itself was very good. My friend's salmon was moist and flavorful. My tuna was THE BEST I've had ANYWHERE --- huge chunks, with a spicy (but not overpowering) glaze, cooked perfectly; over rice with a soy glaze. The flavors mixed brilliantly while remaining distinct. Desserts (all made on premises) were also great. The restaurant was full, though, the kitchen was slow, and our waitstaff was covering too many tables so would vanish for lengthy periods. Still a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisces Restaurant also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pisces Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing