We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonable price”
Review of Impudent Oyster

Impudent Oyster
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Montana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable price”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We traveled to the cape in September and and this restuarant was suggested by our concierge (Dave @ Wequassett). What a great find! Its obviously a local favorite as it was packed even though it was past the high season (mid-September). The building is an old church, complete with stained glass in the front door. Not the most romatic place as you're sitting very close (barely room to squeeze between tables) and its noisy but the food was great and service pretty good. The wine list is better than average. We started w/the Moules Na Cataplana (Portuguese mussels fresh local mussels and chourico sausage steamed in a spicy tomato diablo sauce). Quite different than the usual mussels steamed in a garlic/white wine sauce and very, very good (we sopped up every bit of the broth with the homemade bread they served). We shared the seafood Orichetto which was also amazing. Portions are large; we found one to be plenty to split, especially with a starter. Prices were very reasonable so value was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    296
    100
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coco88
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere - make a reservation”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Overall a very nice dinner experience. Even tho we went during off season, the restaurant was completely packed on a Thursday evening. The bread they brought out was super messy to cut, but very good. We started off with devils on horseback, which was yummy. Someone at the table ordered the noodle salad which was just okay, nothing too special. I ordered a pasta dish which was a little on the salty side. The lobster dish was superb! The service was outstanding, our server was knowledgeable about all the dishes and always friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
503 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Classy Cuisine”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Impudent Oyster is a classy seafood restaurant located at 15 Chatham Bars Avenue. The restaurant is extremely busy which is always a good sign and therefore reservations are required for evening dining from 6 pm onwards. Apparently, on busier weekend evenings diners with or without reservations may still have to wait for their table with a pre drink at the bar. The restaurant prides itself on its fish cuisine and therefore why would you have any other dish. Our meal of fish starters and mains was absolutely superb together with our wine and beer drinks and hot freshly baked bread loaf. The service was excellent, and whilst my wife and I took our time and enjoyed our food, we were aware that the servers were extremely fast in serving and clearing around us. This was without doubt the best meal we enjoyed on our 4 day visit to Chatham, it was also the most expensive by far.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Many times visited but last two trips sadly disappoining. VERY loud and tight seating and food was barely average. Our table had duck, salmon and seafood diablo.....the duck was dry, the salmon overpowered with a salsa and weirdly mixed upon lobster and greens and the diablo was short on seafood. I think the Oyster has an attitude problem and is relying on past reputation. I would rate "poor" except this is sadly average for Chatham restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
256 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good lunch in attractive restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had lunch with out of town friends. The scallop sandwich was excellent, the other courses served were very good. The clam chowder was superb. The service was good, but not particularly friendly, even though the restaurant was not very busy as we were there off season. Would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Impudent Oyster also viewed

 
South Chatham, Chatham
 

Been to Impudent Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing