We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stop for lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impudent Oyster

Impudent Oyster
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I'd rate this place more a 3.5, than just 3. We ate at the bar since the restaurant was hopping at lunchtime. Atmosphere is very nice. Bartender never asked if we wanted water with our meal (we ordered wine). My husband and I both ordered the oyster sandwich with house made potato chips. Chips were good. The oysters were a little over cooked. We wish they offered a choice of rolls. The oyster roll is a bulky baguette so there's a lot to eat. We ate the oysters and left the rolls. If you want hungry man sized sandwiches, then this is your place. If you're retired and don't eat as much as you used to, you might want to share a sandwich or take some home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Silvertree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    282
    94
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food is excellent, the staff professional and the bar is always fun.
Try the mussells yyou will not be disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmed_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“excellent meal and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I both had excellent food here - shrimp/lobster and scallops served with lobster ravioli were delicious,homemade hot bread (and butter) and one of the best cappucino creme brulees I have ever tasted. There was a good choice on the menu although obviously less for those allergic to seafood. Portions were so generous we did what a lot of Americans do and asked for the remainder of our main courses (including the bread and butter!) to go- this was no trouble and came nicely packaged in microwaveable sealed containers - as we were in a self catering cottage this made an excellent dinner for the folllowing evening !
We wanted to return on the Monday evening but they were fully booked (in September) so best to book as it is obviously a popular place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impudent Oyster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food was fabulous. They even had a gluten free menu. We went back a second time. Wait staff was courteous, knowledgeable & helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary35742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, but needs some tweaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice cosy setting and enormous portion sizes. The cooking is of a high standard, but sometimes the food is overwhelmed by lots of extra sauces, cheese, etc, so it is difficult to appreciate the main ingredient.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryszarda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Impudent Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Impudent Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing