We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, no drink menu”

Chatham Squire Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrible service, no drink menu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was SO disappointed with this restaurant on my last visit to Cape Cod, as when I used to travel more frequently to the Cape in the early 2000;s, the restaurant was much better then.

I am not saying that the seafood is still not great, but what happened to the service? My God, we waited and waited and waited at table near to the Bar area, and were ignored. I eventually went up to the Bar rather frustrated, and asked for a bar menu, to which the rude Server said "we don't have any" so after asking if he could make two martinis (and he made up his face at that request!!) I just settled for white wine.

We ordered and were served our food when same rude Server came up later on to take our order.

Overall, the only way I would ever go back to this restaurant is if the management change, and my friends on the Cape report to me that it is better......the seafood of course, is famous for being some of the best prepared on the Cape - which is the ONLY reason they are still getting a full tavern of people - OR people just do not mind putting up with SLOW and very rude Server's for the sake of the seafood.

Not going again for a long, long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMP1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    501
    177
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PLYMOUTH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Laid back meals”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped in after shopping along the main street of Chatham for lunch, we ended up loving the bar for our lunch. Food was wonderful, drinks great and we ended up staying and watching college football. We liked it so much we came back for dinner which was a great seafood stew and chowder. The lobster bisque was amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank obie1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just love it!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here in Chatham a month now, and can't get enough of the Squire's great pub grub! Love the chowder and the lobster bisque, and the lunch specials are great values. Atmosphere is casual and friendly and we'll be back next year same time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Eat at the Squire and leave happy”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Like a good clam chowder? Chowder that's creamy with fresh clams, potatoes cooked to the right texture, tasty as anything? This is the place to get it. Best clam chowder I've ever had and I've had a lot. Would recommend the corned beef sub as well. The corned beef shaved so that it melts in your mouth. Not fatty. Always the best waiters/waitresses. Our waiter this time was ultra fabulous, even bringing extra napkins without being asked. As my friend has a 2 1/2 yr old, this really went far in our book. How many people think of things like that? Just for the waiter, this would be 5 star but the food in itself also deserves it. We've always had great food here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaJane_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to the Chatham Squire for a quick meal on our arrival in Chatham. What a great place. We ate in the bar and were really made to feel like locals. The food is fresh and tasty and very good value. Cocktails are good too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Squire Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Squire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing