We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room and fantastic landscaping” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Clean room and fantastic landscaping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Stayed for two nights, a cheaper alternative to the more pricey Wequassett Inn, where our friends were getting married.

The property itself was stunning (landscaping was professionally done and the air smelled like perfume because there were so many things in bloom). The pool looked like a nice place to hang out, although we didn't really have time.

The front desk employees were very friendly and helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations. We also liked the fact that they had a parrot named Smoky and a giant black Newfoundland named Bear who seemed to own the place.

The only downside we had was the decor of the deluxe room, which was very late 80s/early 90s (teal walls, magenta and cobalt blue comforter, navy blue rug). However, our TV was a very nice flat screen, there was plenty of light, and I loved the private deck off the back of the room.

The price was right (especially for Cape standards) and apparently there was no two-night minimum (according to our other friends who stayed there), which is rare. All in all, we would definitely return, especially if we were to attend another wedding at the Wequassett!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie3979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    133
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
320
185
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cohoes, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. It was very nice but with the kids this next time we are upgrading to an efficiency ~ the deck, grill, & kitchen will all be worth it! The pool was a great haven after a day at the beach and/or town. We loved it!!! We all loved the landscaping and the play area for the kids. Truly nothing could be more perfect for a family with young children!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serendestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

My husband and I spent all last week (8/31 to 9/7) at
Pleasant Bay Village. It was a delightful experience!
Special thanks to Johnny for helping me with the booking.
The landscaping at this resort/motel is spectacular. There
are fountains and waterfalls, exotic trees and plants, wonderfully
landscaped pathways, beautifully latticed arched doorways, easily accessible parking, a lovely koi pond, and a very nice swimming pool with a waterfall and separate hot tub. The peaceful ambience was so relaxing. You can see a bit of whimsy reflected in the many garden sculptures as well. This
owner is a landscaping genius, the attention to every detail was duly noted by us. Everything was freshly painted and in pristine
condition.

The service was excellent. The room was kept spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff were so sweet and friendly. There is even a turn down service with chocolates!

We had a deluxe queen room and it was plenty spacious.
The bathroom itself is small, but the sink area outside
the bathroom was plenty large enough for all our cosmic
debris. The shower was awesome with great water pressure, and everything in the room worked perfectly, fridge, AC. etc. The room decor was attractive as well. And I enjoyed the outdoors
at night in our exotically landscaped sitting area.

The owners are very nice, and often bring their pets to work. We met a sweet Newfie, a gorgeous great dane, and caught a glimpse of a pretty cat in the lobby on our way out. Oh and musn't forget Jasper the ferret! We weren't sure if Jasper belonged to the owners, but he was very cute.

We had only one breakfast in the motel restaurant and it was tasty and well prepared. I would recommend Pleasant Bay Village to anyone. It isn't on the beach, but the quiet and peaceful ambience of the place really makes it a diamond in the rough. It's a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of exploring the cape. Centrally located on the cape, it's a short drive to Chatham beach, and a short walk to the private Pleasant Bay beach. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet and peaceful ambience, beautiful landscaping, waterfalls, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Could have been a little less expensive, and no microwave in Queen deluxe room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kittehgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We relied heavily on the reviews on Trip Advisor when making our selection. I would say that the reviewers were dead on. This is an upscale motel with beautiful landscaping and a cute pool area. We stayed in a deluxe room with 2 Queens which suited our family of 5. The bathroom was a bit tiny - and did not feature a fan - but we got by. The room came equipped with an iron and a tiny little refrigerator. Yes the rooms are a tad musty - but not overly. We ate breakfast there the first morning, and I would recommend you stay away. It was just my son and I, the coffee was like mud, and the pancakes were terrible. Juice was served in a 4 ounce glass and the bill was $25. Live and learn ! There is a Dunkin Donuts about 7 minutes away. Which is also one of the merits of this place - the location while not in the heart of Chatham, sits about 7 minutes from major shopping stores (such as Super Stop & Shop, CVS, Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks - etc) and 7 minutes from the heart of Chatham.

We paid top dollar though - $315 per night. I would have preferred something a tad more affordable.

  • Liked — landcaping + location
  • Disliked — tiny bathrooms, terrible breakfast experience
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miteub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

When I was looking for somewhere to stay in Cape Cod I was immediately drawn to The Pleasant Bay Village in Chatham. I was so pleased that I went with the gut feeling that this was going to be a great place. The excellent reviews on Tripadvisor made the decision for me. The minute we arrived I knew it was going to be special. Our two-bedroomed lower suite was actually a beautiful little cottage with everything you could possibly need for a family of four. Two good sized bedrooms with plenty of storage and comfortable beds. Two bathrooms was a real bonus when travelling with two teenagers! The suite was beautifully decorated and furnished with a full sized kitchen that had quality appliances and utensils. It was lovely being able to sit out on our decking in the early morning sunshine! The ladies who serviced our room did a marvellous job and even emptied the dishwasher for us.

Staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The reception area was homely and inviting. We absolutely loved the huge dogs and cat. Our boys loved the swimming pool and being able to wander around the beautifully designed gardens.

It was a bit of a drive into Chtaham but we knew that when we booked and were prepared for that. We actually prefer to be in a quieter area so it suited us perfectly but could be a problem if you like to walk to town/restaurants. It was an excellent base for exploring the Cape and a lovely relaxing place to come back to at the end of the day.

Thank you to everyone at the Pleasant Bay Village for making our first trip to Cape Cod a memorable one.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and being able to fully relax
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiivisitorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

The Pleasant Bay Village lived up to the hype. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which had a big lounge, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen and dining area, a raised deck and our own patio/barbecue area, as well as a front garden! Set in the most wonderful gardens it was a mixture of chilled out cabin in the woods and a 5 star hotel. The rooms are cleaned every day, there is a turn down service - and even our barbecue was cleaned after we used it! The pool is lovely - surrounded by acers and bamboos with towels whenever you want them, and a (very hot) jacuzzi. Each room has its own car parking space (the only thing that is "motel" about it) and as it is situated right on route 28 it provides easy access up and down the Cape. We did not actually go to the Pleasant Bay beach. It is a short walk but that is along the busy route 28 and there is no path or sidewalk. This is a really special place.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Other reviewers were right about the damp,musty smell in the room. A pity, because everything else was excellent. And in particular the owners and staff were all friendly, accomodating and helpful. Easy-access computers and good self-laundry facilities. Pool pleasantly uncrowded. Good restaurant recommendations. A delightful place to stay and good value.

  • Liked — The landscaping and pretty surroundings. And the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The dank, musty smell in the room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carolineray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing