We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Bay Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our first time at Pleasant Bay and needless to say we were pleasantly surprised. We would definitely return. We had a 2 bedroom upper suite that was perfect and very private. The staff was more than accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom upper suite and it was perfect, very quiet and away from the pool and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 739 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

First and foremost, the property is absolutely gorgeous and meticulous. Every corner, patch, bush, tree, fountain and sculpture has had a lot of thought and love put into it. This is my first time staying here but my husband's family has been coming here for 25 years. They just redid the pool and it is wonderful. So relaxing. They have a jacuzzi, shuffle board, a small playground and ping pong. The Wifi is very strong so if you have to do some work, you can with confidence. It's close to everything in town but you will need a car. The family and staff are accommodating and kind. The food is yummy but you can go to the store and cook or prepare food in your room if you have a kitchen. It's really easy for the kids to make friends and play.
It's not even a question if we are coming back here next year, of course we are!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but some have kitchenettes so you can cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kissjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our family had a great time. We spent a couple of hours in the pool and hot tub everyday.The breakfast is great.The stuff are very friendly. It is a sweet and family-like resort. We like the Chinese-antiques decoration inside and outside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Chatham is a fabulous resort. The best we visited on the cape Pleasant bay is quite a way out from centre so you need to drive out at night. it's a nice place but getting rather dated, pool area good. Cleaning standard for room was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skifanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We cannot say enough wonderful things about our recent stay at PBV. The upgraded pool area is teriffic. Our room was right next to the pool and beautifully appointed, sparkling and very comfortable. The hotel offers breakfast in the morning and lunch by the pool. It has all the charm of a bed and breakfast with the convenience and ammenities of a hotel. It is relaxing and peaceful. The staff is professional, friendly and they really go out of their way to interact with the guests and provide great service. We wanted to watch Netflix in our room and they actually provided (and set-up) a blue ray player so we could connect! We highly recommend PBV for a short or long stay! Thye do NOT nickle and dime you with resort fees or extra charges. Free wireless, newsparers, coffee, etc.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are the best rooms. They typiclally have a deck and are closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Been staying at Pleasant Bay Village for 20 years. As former residents of Chatham, we always have recommended this small well manage hotel village...as well as staying there ourselves after we sold. (Including writing reviews on Tripadvisor)...While it is a small hotel sort of setup, with units spread out throughout the lovely grounds, it offers a good accommodation for the money. We have stayed in a number of units, in front, (which are the standard priced rooms), as well as larger units or the little efficiencies in back etc, this time we stayed in a deluxe two-queen bedded room in a set of rooms in a strip immediately behind the main office. When we checked in, front desk gents were friendly and chatted about the new renovation the pool and terrace went under, local restaurants opening closing etc. While the grounds are stunning as always, people are mostly friendly, and room sizes are huge, there are a number of repeated issues, that the owners seem to not be bothered with after all of these years. For one, the "check-in/lobby" area, while quaint, really could use an update. Just dusting, removing all of the mismatched curtain treatments and perhaps recovering some of the sofas, with a coat of paint, would be ample. The pool area, is very nice...sitting outside for lunch, could be nice. They did do a lovely job. But we found on the one night we tried to sit outside (thinking it would be a bit quieter around dinner time) and enjoy late afternoon sun, many, MANY kids and families were using the pool, running around, screaming, etc..with lots of splashing and diving (I believe no diving is allowed due to depth)...While everyone wants to enjoy themselves, perhaps minding other guests, and having a quiet area of chairs, set away from the pool, (maybe by the nice hot tub)...would be great to help offer something to all ages and traveller types. There seems to be another rock area, once could put chairs, that would provide that, but guess its not urgent. Parking is assigned to your room.. When we went to bring back our bags, someone was parked in our spot, all afternoon. We called the desk to ask where to park as we didn't want to penalize someone else...Car didn't leave until later that night. Our unit was large, with the usual renovated bath, sitting area, dressing area, and comfortable beds. However, as soon as I was showed at check in, that the room would be directly behind the main office, across from the soda and ice machines....as well as the direct path to the pool, I asked if it would be noisy and was told it was not. Now, I travel a lot, so I get slamming doors, kids, cars, the usual travel sounds. But this unit, since it was front to back, was the receiver of lots of people walking by the bathroom windows, using the ice machine...and a constant running machine sound in our ceiling. For the life of us, we couldn't figure out what the noise was. When I mentioned it at check out, the sole female front desk person said no one ever complained about the noise before and couldn't say what it was. Oh well...After ignoring that...what we couldn't ignore, was once again, the usual tremendous smell of mildew. Living on the Cape can cause this, being so close to the sea air. We lived there; we get it. But no matter how much we opened all of the windows, burned a candle, or tried using the AC to dry out the room, it appeared to be in the rugs, curtains, linens..you name it. For some reason, these rooms never can be aired out properly and this is the only deep issue we always have with Pleasant Bay. As a result, your clothes reek of it by trips end and your luggage does too. One must wash their laundry immediately, upon return home, or your stuff will really stink for days. Beyond that...breakfast is ok. Really more convenient than something worth really doing everyday. Service people never seem to understand english...and the tables are usually wonky and need someone to lean on, to stop them from bumping. We ate there once. Rest of the trip, we hit our usual haunts..the Chatham Coffee Co for bagels, best egg sandwiches anywhere...The Red Nun for fish and chips....Overall, its a great easy place to stay. If you can get a room that is a. NOT behind the front lobby. b. can be aired out so you're not choked by mildew for your stay, then I think you'll have a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either in the very front (these are not noisy!)....or way in the back...Do not stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srgirl4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a great stay at Pleasant Bay. There were 6 of us, sharing a deluxe suite. Very nice property, screened off front porch, large private deck on the back. A separate dining area - very comfortable.
It's a very pretty property, beautifully landscaped. Very nice staff. Great location.
It's not a luxury property, but cute and quaint. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: $172 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing