We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles,CA
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We just returned from a four night stay at Pleasant Bay Village Resort. We booked there because of reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed!! We went with our son and his two very young children and were in the two bedroom, 2 bath unit. The place is truly magnificently landscaped - I wanted to bring the person home who did the landscaping. Our unit was impeccably clean and the cleaning staff kept it that way very cheerfully, despite the little ones. The entire staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfasts were reasonable and well prepared. The children loved the pool and the play equipment and the gentle dogs were a delight to the kids and to us. We have traveled all over the world and have stayed in very wonderful places but I would say that this was one of the best experiences we've had. We are hoping to come again next year and have our other child and grandchildren join us. I cannot say enough good things about everyone associated with Pleasant Bay Village Resort.

  • Liked — It met all of our needs.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RMDSBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    143
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
353
197
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We decided to stay at Pleasant Bay Village after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. The location is less than a 5 minute drive to Chatham center. The staff are very friendly and accomodating and really put their heart and souls into the Village.
The site itself is very charming, nicely decorated with beautiful grounds. Although it was too cold to use, there is a clean pool and hot tub with ample seating, as well as a ping pong table. The map also has a playground, but we didn't use it.
Our room was clean with plenty of space for 2 people, with sliding doors leading to a seating area. They also have larger rooms with views of the pond, decks, and grills.
We ate breakfast on site, which is not included, but was delicious and includes hot items (pancakes, french toast, omelets).
We will definitely stay here next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

The pros: very clean, nice bathroom, comfy bed, charming gardens and pool area. Really above average...for a motel.

The cons: musty smell (lingered in any clothes left on upholstered furnishings), busy street, not within walking distance to any shops or dining, no view.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank minlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

When I arrived at Pleasant Bay Village, I had no idea that it was such special and truly unique property. I was greeted by the lovable staff such as Bear (the black Newfoundland Dog) as well as the family who runs the resort. My family was ecstatic apon arrival and even though we are on Nantucket for the next week, the kids won't stop asking whether we can leave Nantucket a day early and spend that last day at the Village instead. The diverse landscaping and sculptures cover the grounds so perfectly, it's just a really fun place. We may need to plan another trip this fall: I bet the colors of the japanese maple trees will be gorgeous!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HK2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband and I are rcently back home from 4 nights at Plesant Bay village. We stayed in an efficiency unit and found the room, kitchenette and bath very nice. The grounds are kept immaculately and the interesting plantings, well-kept pond and waterfall all add to the relaxing experience. We would plan another stay at PBV when we return to the Cape.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbyDuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY City
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Wow. This place is charming, classic, quiet, friendly and beautiful. Stayed in a "deluxe" room but it was beyond expectation. For starters there was a willow tree (among other foliage) right outside our door and the lovely branches framed the doorway. The buildings are all classic weathered cedar shake with pitched roofs and colonial windows. Our room had a comfortable seating area, beautiful new bath, lovely furnishings and best of all a very large deck (with first class comfortable chairs, i.e. not plastic Wal-Mart chairs) overlooking beautiful garden. The important point is that every room has privacy, gorgeous views and a sense of being in someone's home.
The AC worked wonderfully, the water pressure was great and the amenities were four star, i.e. even had a decorator container with Q-tip swabs and cotton balls. Of course there was ironing board and iron, hairdryer, BIG towels and, best of all, a comfy bed.
We were told the owner's hobby is gardening and that is reflected everywhere you look. The grounds are lush, spacious and filled with subtle fountains, local statuary, paths and gorgeous plantings.
If there is any drawback it is that they do not serve breakfast until 8am. We are early risers, and encountered other guests anxiously awaiting service in the morning. Breakfast is bountiful, delicious and served in the spacious and attractive "morning room." We didn't go to the pool, or get in the hot tub... but will next time- as there certainly will be a next time.
They are beautifully situated about half-way between Chatham and Orleans, and less than a half a mile to the Pleasant Bay beach. This place is a gem.

  • Liked — gorgeous grounds
  • Disliked — no breakfast until 8am
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2007

This place is beautiful. We were in a rear efficiency (In July 2007) with 2 double beds equipped with a very nice kitchen and an outdoor deck area. I really can’t say enough wonderful things about this place. Our room (I can’t talk about other room types, this is in general for rear effecencies) was comparable to a Hilton or Marriott room NOT like a motel room in any stretch. It was absolutely spotless. Cleaning crew does an amazing job. Not a spec of dirt. All furniture looked like it was just purchased. The kitchen had a very nice countertop, hot plate and top of the line dishwasher and microwave/convection oven and looked like as well as if it was put in just recently. The grounds are magnificent. Beautiful waterfalls and elaborate gardening throughout. They must have put in millions of dollars into just the gardens. Outdoor deck was right outside a beautiful waterfall with any flower you could think of surrounding it. We were quite surprised in the quality of the outdoor furniture and its quantity. We had our own private table with umbrella, 6 chairs and 2 beach chairs. Pool as well was really really nice. Front desk staff always very helpful and the office-frontdesk-resteraunt area were nicely appointed. WIFI internet access is throughout the property and accessible with fairly high access speeds in our room. Sadly the WIFI was down for some time during our stay. I can’t say they have the most reliable internet router as the connection dropped several times. However, it was usable and they did have Comcast out at the property many times to try to repair it. We were in such a shock in how nice this place was. You cant really beat it for the price. If its not for pleasant bay you will end up paying $200 a night for a dumpy motel or end up paying $700 a night for a 4 star hotel. To summarize – if you reserve the right room, you will be nicely surprised and will enjoy a wonderful vacation at pleasant bay villlge.

  • Liked — Spotless/very nice rooms. Beautiful grounds.
  • Disliked — WIFI went down a few times. Not on the beach.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank s884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,238 reviews
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing