We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family was trying to get away for a few days and we found the Pleasant Bay Village on line. Much top our delight we found the location extremely interesting as they have numerous gardens, waterfalls, and fish ponds. The room was very nice and we had breakfast every morning which was excellent. The dining rooms were clean, pleasant, and the staff was very friendly. I highly recommend the Pleasant Bay Village to anyone that is coming to the Cape. I will surely return..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    134
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
322
188
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is my third trip to Chatham where I stayed at Pleasant Bay Village and I was not disappointed. The continual quality of the establishment along with visible maintenance and reinvestment into the property shows that the owners are firm believers of the entity concept. There are a lot of bad places to stay on the Cape and some flat out over priced but PBV hits the sweet spot when it comes to value for your dollar. Oh and did I mention the courteous staff and cleanliness of the rooms, outstanding. For those that complain of some musty and damp conditions, you must remember that you are at the base of a cove about a mile in from the Atlantic, moisture is a concern everywhere on the Cape but it is an issue for some to contend with.

Green Features: The hotel strives to be a green facility and shows its mettle with solar panels and some LED bulbs along with their water practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3chorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

No matter what other activities we enjoy in any given summer, we make it a point to spend a week at Pleasant Bay Village. For us, it continues to be the perfect Cape Cod summer experience. We started coming to this exceptional resort in 1991 when the two of us spent four nights there. As the summers passed, we lengthened our stay and added family members. We've just concluded a week's stay, joined by our children and grandchildren; ten of us, three generations strong. As always, we all had a splendid time!
The variety of accommodations perfectly suits the needs of each group of us -- lovely, well-equipped motel rooms, with refrigerator, modern bath and private deck; beautiful efficiencies with state-of-the-art kitchens and baths, and spacious, well-equipped one- and two-bedroom suites with modern kitchens and baths. Daily maid service is provided, as well as 'turn-down' service in mid-evening (with a Godiva chocolate goody on your pillow). Each unit has its own outdoor area with grill. A small playground area is popular with the young ones.
Pleasant Bay Village hosts a range of guests including couples of any age, families with children (of every age), guests from abroad, and groups attending a wedding in the area.
The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful with koi pond, gardens and waterfalls, the service is excellent and the management and staff helpful, efficient, and friendly. For us, the centerpiece of each summer's stay is the large, heated swimming pool. Our group spends hours here, swimming and enjoying poolside food service and the adjoining hot tub.

Pleasant Bay Village never stops adding improvements and each year, we find wonderful surprises, sometimes relating to the physical plant, such as the popular hot tub and expanded dining room; sometimes creative/artistic additions, such as new art work and small, unobtrusive, whimsical 'creatures' which one comes upon, both indoors and out. Everything about the place reflects quiet good taste. Pleasant Bay Village has moved with the times, with solar panels which provide significant energy to this 'green' establishment, and wi-fi throughout.

Pleasant Bay Village is in a central position on the Cape and our group has enjoyed, neighboring beaches, shopping, fine dining, museums, summer theater and concerts and some memorable whale watches.
Perhaps our son said it best: "We spend the six months following our stay at Pleasant Bay Village looking back on wonderful times there and the next six months looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Our group of ten is divided into three related families, each with different housing needs which Ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As a onetime resident, and now vacationer, of one of the best seaside towns in Cape Cod, Chatham holds a special interest for my family and I. We have stayed in a number of hotels - from Chatham Bars to the Highlander. So, we've had a nice range to enjoy. Recently stayed for a few nights with a family member, for a quick getaway. The hotel managed to have a standard room, well priced at $235 a night. One of the cheapest rates you can get for a decent, upgraded hotel, that has extremely clean rooms, newer baths, comfortable beds (with duvets), etc, all in a pretty nice spot of Chatham. Just down the road from Jackknife Beach, which is public. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. Must mention that the cleaning team does a great job as well. The standard rooms are spacious, with two double beds along with desk, closet, and a small fridge, great for beach snacks or a bottle of wine. (I always appreciate a small fridge when traveling as they seem to be harder and harder to find these days in room). Anyway, the bath was brand new, in a lovely grey tone, with granite top, white and chrome fixtures and a great shower. The glass door and patio windows were nice, as was the two outdoor chairs, and the gurgling water fountain at the front. Parking was also good - wide spaced and right in front of the room, which was great for loading and unloading cases, beach chairs, etc. (These standard rooms are in the front facing the road..but you're back far enough to be quiet for sleeping.) Our room was very musty smelling, as others have mentioned. Not unusual on the Cape or in any beachside resort. The wall unit a/c does cool well, but maybe they could use some sort of dehumidifier or opening the windows to help that. The breakfast offered is nice - I wouldn't chalk it up any higher than your average luncheonette style of selection, but the price was fairly low for eggs, bacon etc..A nice change to see in a resort town, where a bagel sandwich can be $10 and above. Nice grounds, as everyone mentions, in an asian theme, which gives the place a higher end feel than the other strip motels closer to town. The downside - well, I must say, while the front desk people were fine, I do think the entire lobby and dining areas need some attention. The decor is a mix of Cape Cod, meets plastic oriental, meets chintz. Considering how nice the rooms are, accept for the 1980's chintz coverlets on the beds and outdated curtains, you'll find that here too. The whole lobby could do with a clean up as its just so opposite to how the rest of the property looks. There is a little parrot in a cage in front, that kids seem to really enjoy and a small dog, that runs around. While I'm an animal lover myself, I must say, I or my fellow traveller was a fan, of the small furry dog, being allowed run of the house. Several times, we spotted the dog running in and out of the kitchen, who's door is open to the small dining room area. I don't mind pets being a part of the scene for the owners, but not when they're near my food prep at a hotel. They also allow the dog to walk in and out of the tables and sit directly beneath your feet, while eating, hoping for a morsel or treat. The wait staff were pleasant enough, but a couple of them needed some grooming maybe. One had a pretty bad B.O. odor. And one had a large cotton bandage, with blood on it, wrapped loosely on his hand. If a guy has a cut hand, let him sit for a bit, or maybe wear something over it? Not appetizing first thing in the a.m. LOL Food-wise, it was fine. Priced accordingly for eggs, french toast etc.... We did not use the pool but have heard its nice as they offer poolside wait service for lunch. A couple of suggestions...have more than one copy of each newspaper available to read. Many out of towners like to read the papers. If everyone has to share one copy of the NY Times, the Boston Globe, or the Cape Cod Times, with large red marker on top saying "LOBBY COPY" - one doesn't get to read them. Plus, they paper gets sticky with breakfast goop. How about a free copy of the local paper for each guest? And in spite of the guy talking loudly when I checked in, about the turndown service at night, we never had it in our room, any of the nights we stayed. All in all, a great trip, as always. Room, price, and location makes it worth the trip and a return. Try the Red Nun, 323 East (formerly Campari's), and the Nauset Beach Club for dinner if in need of a good local meal or higher end one.) Cheers!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are in the front of the hotel, facing the hotel parking and road. Its not noisy thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srgirl4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The grounds are lovely and well kept. Room was comfortable with new carpet and bedding. Very clean. Hospitality was great. The staff very friendly and helpful. Plan to return as soon as possible.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a small family wedding at the Wequassett and had family staying at Pleasant Bay Village. The hospitality was great, very helpful staff. The resort is very nice and the rooms are great. Overall I would give it a 9 out of 10 and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We knew nothing about this resort prior to booking. Our first time in this area. WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE! We selected a standard room, which was nice, but next time, we would take EXTRA DELUXE KING. The resort is absolutely beautiful--the outdoor gardens, trails, pond, pool maintained to perfection. The daily breakfast starts one's day on a positive note. All the people are pleasant, helpful, and accommodating in every way. We look forward to returning next summer.

Michael and Judith Marcus

Room Tip: We suggest the EXTRA DELUXE KING for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing