We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“VACATION PAR EXCELLENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Bay Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
“VACATION PAR EXCELLENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We knew nothing about this resort prior to booking. Our first time in this area. WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE! We selected a standard room, which was nice, but next time, we would take EXTRA DELUXE KING. The resort is absolutely beautiful--the outdoor gardens, trails, pond, pool maintained to perfection. The daily breakfast starts one's day on a positive note. All the people are pleasant, helpful, and accommodating in every way. We look forward to returning next summer.

Michael and Judith Marcus

Room Tip: We suggest the EXTRA DELUXE KING for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    133
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
320
183
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Upon entering our room, we detected a musty odor, and the humidity was higher in our room than it was outside. In order to reduce the odor and dampness, a dehumidifier was installed. Although the dehumidifier reduced the humidity, it did nothing to rid the room of its odor (friends noticed the smell too, and it caused my husband to have sinus issues). We expected a New England experience, but got an Asian theme outdoors and pink/tacky decor in our room. On a positive note, the maid service was good and we enjoyed the restaurant. Plus, the lobby/dining area was tastefully and appropriately decorated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantbayvillage, General Manager at Pleasant Bay Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Pleasant Bay Village. We are very sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience at our establishment. We make every effort possible to ensure that all of our guests are happy and are continuously improving our rooms and our grounds. The weather this summer has been quite rainy (2nd most rainfall in June on record) and even when it’s not raining, it’s been incredibly humid. When necessary, we do our best to keep the humidity down in the rooms with de-humidifiers and a/c units that also have a de-humidifier option. As many of our numerous repeat guests may concur, we do have Zen gardens and waterfalls on our property which is the reason that many come back year after year. Having been part of the Chatham, Cape Cod community for 50+ years as a family owned and operated hotel, we feel that we do provide a Cape experience, although unlike many others, and all of our rooms are decorated with original art from well-known, Cape Cod artists. We aim to provide a unique experience and we are sorry that it was not what you were expecting. Pleasant Bay Village is always striving to improve and we appreciate the advice on the color scheme of the room and have already had it painted to a softer tone. Of course all of the staff appreciates your positive feedback and we will be sure to continue our high standards of work ethic, attention to detail, foodservice quality, and room cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in this motel for two nights over the weekend and we were sad we were only there for 2 nights! The place has beautiful grounds, room was spacious and CLEAN, pool was beautiful and clean, and the Jacuzzi worked! We like going to Nausset Beach and wanted to stay somewhere fairly close to that. I stumbled upon Pleasant Bay Village and after reading the reviews, booked a couple nights here.

I cannot wait to come back here! We were already trying to decide if we could fit in another visit here before the summer season ends!

We had a queen size room. The TV was a good size for the room, not that we were in the room that much anyway. It was super clean when we arrived. The deck out back of the room was pretty private and overlooked a water feature and tons of beautiful trees and plants. The pillows were a little stiff but we like our pillows super soft and fluffy. We also like to keep the room very cold and the air conditioning worked pretty well with our "polar bear" like tendencies.

The pool was clean and beautiful! Surrounded by chairs, free pool towels, tons of plants, shuffle board....just perfect. They have a hot tub that actually works! Half the time we go to a hotel the hot tub is "out of service." So we were so happy to end our long day on the beach w/ a dip in the pool and hot tub.

They have a game room but we didn't have time to check that out sadly. We did see the ping pong table and shuffle board though.

The only down side was that it was really hard to make dinner reservations at many of the downtown Chatham restaurants, which is not the motels problem at all. But if you are staying here and want a good meal, make sure you make a reservation days in advance!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardinals11312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros: my boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights as a 4th of July/Birthday getaway!
I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into our room. It was very big for a room with a queen size bed. The bathroom was newly renovated. The clothing drawers were new and there were plenty of them. We had a private balcony area with a pretty view of the grounds and we had a lot of privacy! That was a concern of mine since I've stayed in a B and B before and did not like the lack of privacy! Pleasant Bay was perfect! Very pretty grounds! There is also a turn down service every night. You come back to your room and find Godiva chocolates on your bed!
The location was only a few minutes from town by car. Very easy to get to! You are within walking distance of a small beach where you can go swimming if you'd like to. You also get your own parking spot in front of your room.

Cons:
The room had a musty smell but it wasn't unbearable. Bring a few candles or room deodorizers.

The pool was very busy. We decided to go in the middle of the day and there were no chairs to sit. People were holding chairswith towels as well. Pool/hot tub area could be better monitored in order to be sure every paying guest is able to use it. We ended up leaving and going to a local beach instead.

Overall, it was worth staying here. We enjoyed ourselves and were happy overall!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

From the first phone call-very friendly staff! Beautifully maintained grounds & pool area. Kids liked exploring the paths-coi pond,waterfalls.Nice reasonably priced breakfast on site. Beautiful warm pool with nice pool towels. Really comfortable bed, linens & towels. Accommodations great! Stayed in 2 bedroom 2 bath-nice bathrooms, roomy, nice updated kitchen, back deck, front screened porch! Only wish it was on bike trail-road to it was busy & scary with kids. But can drive to other access points.Location great-good access to downtown & ride to Orleans. About hour from mainland & hour from Provincetown. It's a cottage/motel development that was upgraded to feel like a resort. Well worth staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
183 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a most unusual place, everything that you experience is BEAUTIFUL, there is not one aspect of this experience that you will find ugly.It is a truley visually stunning experience, the landscaping, rooms, service and so forth.Great setting, perfect rooms, wonderful staff, great pool and good food. I would not go anywhere else in Chatham..this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 521 and it was delighful, drive right up to the back door of yor unit and park.Sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeP2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Cape Cod and we had a great time. We stayed 3 nights at Pleasant Bay and loved the large room - although the bathroom was small, the comfy beds made up for it. Our son enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed exploring the gardens. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed our breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
11.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing