We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay But Reviews Are Overenthusiastic....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just returned from a 3 night stay at Pleasant Bay Village. We enjoyed our stay for sure--no real complaints. But since I rely on TA so heavily as do others, I wanted to provide an accurate picture of this property and tone down what seems to be a cult-like following here. As an initial matter, we made our 3 night reservation less than one week in advance of our stay, so to even find a decent place on the Cape in the middle of the summer on short notice for $300 a night was a relief. But I always review in the context of what has been paid and for $300 a night, the bar is set high, even for Cape Cod in July. And I want to be clear--but for the people running this place who are exceptionally gracious, this would be an average rating. Our room was booked as an "extra deluxe" room with 2 queen beds @ $275 per night ($300 including taxes). While the room was certainly comfortable for my wife and our two children under 10 years old, it did not meet my expectations of what a $300 nightly room should be. We had no outdoor seating area other than two small chairs at the doorway (reviews here led me to believe we would have some sort of outdoor seating area--definitely confirm that if it's important to you as it was to me). The bathroom was as small as I've ever seen in a hotel/motel--barely enough room for one person to get around--fortunately the sink was outside of the room with the toilet and bath. Instead of a deluxe bathroom, there was a form-fitted replacement (e.g. "refinish your bathroom in one day") shower/bath combo. The small refrigerator was nice but barely large enough to hold a six pack and a bottle of wine. No extra blankets and dated furnishings. Definite thin walls. On the plus side, the room was spacious, well-maintained by housekeeping and had a nice flat screen that was wall-mounted. The selling point here for sure is a great mid-Cape location (easy drive into beautiful Chatham center, all the great beaches like Nauset and Skacet) and Provincetown). The pool is beautiful and totally family friendly with readily available pool towels. Property grounds are fantastic. Nice coffee service in the lobby. We did not eat at PBV so I cannot comment on food there. Most importantly, everyone working here was very friendly and helpful in securing things like boogie boards for the kids, dinner recommendations and other tourist advice. I would return here but with more realistic expectations for the price being paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
There are newer reviews for Pleasant Bay Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 717 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

No matter what other activities we enjoy in any given summer, we make it a point to spend a week at Pleasant Bay Village. For us, it continues to be the perfect Cape Cod summer experience. We started coming to this exceptional resort in 1991 when the two of us spent four nights there. As the summers passed, we lengthened our stay and added family members. We've just concluded a week's stay, joined by our children and grandchildren; nine of us, three generations strong. As always, we all had a splendid time!

The variety of accommodations perfectly suits the needs of each group of us -- lovely, well-equipped motel rooms, with refrigerator, modern bath and private deck; beautiful efficiencies with state-of-the-art kitchens and baths, and spacious, well-equipped one- and two-bedroom suites with modern kitchens and baths. Daily maid service is provided, as well as 'turn-down' service in mid-evening (with a Godiva chocolate goody on your pillow). Each unit has its own outdoor area with grill. A small playground area is popular with the young ones.

Pleasant Bay Village hosts a range of guests including couples of any age, families with children (of every age), guests from abroad, and groups attending a wedding in the area.

The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful with koi pond, gardens and waterfalls, the service is excellent and the management and staff helpful, efficient, and friendly. For us, the centerpiece of each summer's stay is the large, heated swimming pool. Our group spends hours here, swimming and enjoying poolside food service and the adjoining hot tub.



Pleasant Bay Village never stops adding improvements and each year, we find wonderful surprises, sometimes relating to the physical plant, such as the popular hot tub and expanded dining room; sometimes creative/artistic additions, such as new art work and small, unobtrusive, whimsical 'creatures' which one comes upon, both indoors and out. Everything about the place reflects quiet good taste. Pleasant Bay Village has moved with the times, with solar panels which provide significant energy to this 'green' establishment, and wi-fi throughout.



Pleasant Bay Village is in a central position on the Cape and our group has enjoyed, neighboring beaches, shopping, fine dining, museums, summer theater and concerts and some memorable whale watches.

Perhaps our son said it best: "We spend the six months following our stay at Pleasant Bay Village looking back on wonderful times there and the next six months looking forward to our next stay."

Room Tip: Because of our differing needs, our group of three families always enjoys a rear efficiency, a one-b...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuckSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a great place. The landscaping is beautiful. Everything is very nice and comfortable. Sitting outside on the patio with the beautiful landscaping was really a highlight of the trip.

There is a Stop & Shop down the road and there are good size refrigerators and facilities in the room at Pleasant Bay Village. It is delightful to prepare some meals and sit outside on the lovely patio with the beautiful landscaping. We were there in July when there was near record heat in NYC and Boston however it was almost borderline chilly after dark in Chatham.

We considered staying in Sandwich but chose to go up to Chatham and are really pleased with our decision. The heated pool is very nice and everything is very well done.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our third stay at Pleasant Bay Village and we are still pleasantly surprised and impressed by the quality of this comfortable, lovely, non-pretentious resort. Now having a better understanding of the property, we chose a large double queen room with private deck which is situated at the back of the property. It is a large, quiet and very comfortable room. Although I am sure the resort was full, you have the impression that you are the only ones there. All of the staff are friendly, service oriented and extremely accommodating. The grounds are without compare - 30 varieties of Japanese maples, flowers, huge Koi pool - gorgeous. We love the family atmosphere as you come to breakfast in the morning and are greeted by Bear (an incredibly big Newfoundland), Smokey the African Grey Parrot, Misha the Cat (don't know what kind she is, I'm not a cat person), and this year, Andrea the 11 week old Pomeranian puppy. Breakfast is served in the dining pool side. And you can get lunch as well at the pool. We loved the poolside dining which is delicious, and friendly in a beautiful setting.
This is definitely a relaxed, beautiful, family friendly resort that is ideally situated right on Route 28 with easy access to downtown Chatham, Orleans, and all the beaches.I highly highly recommend!

Room Tip: There are a number of types of rooms available depending on your needs. I know making a reservation...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A last minute visit to meet some friends in Chatham landed us at The Pleasant Bay Village. I have spent very little to no time on the cape and didn’t realize how lucky we were to get a room here! We were traveling with our two small dogs and to our pleasant surprise folks were very warm and welcoming to all of us. The grounds are both beautiful and relaxing. This family owned and operated hotel strikes the right balance between a pampered setting and an accessible atmosphere. We highly recommend this location for a family friendly stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monishay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Turned up late on a friday night in jun 12 and got a super suite for $250 . Reare door led to decking and direct access to pool and hot tub.
Great breakfast and fine service. Only -ve is there isnt a restaurant for lunch or dinner. lovely oast nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent a weekend just to get away from the city. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The pool area was actually nicer than it looked on the pictures and the surrounding grounds are impeccably kept.
The hotel is 3 mIles from the center of town, but after finding out that there is plenty of free parking around the main street that was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaAlberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: $173 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing