We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot get any closer to the beach”
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Chestnut Hill, MA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You cannot get any closer to the beach”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We have been staying here for five years (our previous favorite was torn down to build condos). The location (private beach, Chatham) is superb. The rooms tend to be on the small side, but most are equiped with microwaves, small stoves, and refrigerators, and are clean, and well maintained. What a joy to walk out of your room, and be on a lovely beach in less than 100 feet. We have always enjoyed our week-long stays here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    85
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
118
210
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We have made a wonderful discovery after many years of visting Chatham and all of Cape Cod. Right under our noses was a magical place with its own private beach, a lovely set of secluded gardens, top notch rooms and service. This is the Hawthorne Motel. A simple overnight became perfect as we never needed to leave the grounds to savor the best of Chatham. Sea and sand and boats travelling by and in the mist of early morning, the seals, hundreds of them on a sand bar just feet away, playing and calling their haunting cry. We walked to town , ate locally, and found a perfect retreat we will return to this autumn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanlovers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked at the last minute and were able to get rooms for every night, although did have to change rooms most nights but housekeeping moved everything for us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, parking was easy. Everything you need for a vacation is available, it's like home away from home except you don't have to do any of the work. Private beach with chairs, a fire pit with a friendly Wednesday night gathering hosted by the friendly owners, easy access to everything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorne and would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5travelers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

stayed for 4 nights August 7-11. Beautiful! on the water, private beach, 5 minute walk to Main Street. This place has it all. Also next to Chatham Bars in which has a nice restaurant/bar along the waterfront. The owners are excellent. The only thing we found odd was that the rooms do not have their own iron & ironing board - you must get one from the main house and return once finished. Other than that, perfect! Will definitley return. This has to be the best place to stay based on location and price! Motel offers free Wi-Fi and there is a computer for use in the main area if you do not have a laptop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredbeach2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorne just last week and we truly loved it there. It was a small, quaint motel right on the beach. The location was absolutely perfect and Gil (the owner) was wonderful!! You could walk right down to the beach or walk to the downtown area within 10 minutes or so- the location couldn't have been better. Gil also was just so friendly and helpful. One word to the ladies, they do not carry conditioner at the hotel so you may want to make sure you pack some! I did not have any and my husband ran over to ask if they had some for us and one of the house cleaning girls lent me a bottle so that was really sweet. You can't go wrong at the Hawthorne!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA6708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I hesitate in doing the review because this place is the best kept secret in Chatham. This is our 5th year or so of visiting Chatham and staying here. The Hawthorne is a great find. It is next door to Chatham Bars Inn at a 3rd of the price. You are on the same beach. You can walk over to Chatham bars to their outdoor bar for lunch or to our favorite restaurant the Impudent Oyster for dinner (make a reservation or put your name in for seat at bar). You can go for a cocktail or several at the Squire or the Red Nun or sit outside at the Blue Coral and then walk home. There is shopping, most very pricey, steps away on Main Street. You have to drive to our next favorite restaurants Del Mar or Pieces. We enjoy getting ready to go out and sitting on the lawn overlooking the ocean, watching the bunnies and having a glass of wine or some chips and dip, which we prepared in our kitchenette and meeting fellow guests. The rooms are small, but very clean; all have small refrigerators, some have stovetops, some with ocean views. Gil and Eli are the owners and are very nice; their staff has been with them for many years from Bulgaria. This is a motel so it is mostly self serve, which is fine for us. They offer free coffee in their lobby, free internet use, free ice, beach towels, an outdoor cold shower to rinse off on the walk back from the beach. They have some beach loungers, but I bring my own in the car just in case they run out, which happens, They recently added a grill for bbq.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hawthorne for 3 nights this July.
We had an excellent time!!
If you are looking for beach location as well as walking distance to all shopping and food for a reasonable price, this is the place to be!!

Only thing I would reocommend are night blinds / shutters in the rooms. The sun rises very early in the summer and the room gets light. note that there ARE blinds but not ones that keep out the light.

That's the only negative I can think of. Other than that it was great and we are planning to come back next year with the kids.

Gil - save us a spot :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshreichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
0.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.3 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Property: Hawthorne Motel
Address: 196 Shore Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2357
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful waterfront lodging in quaint Chatham, Massachusetts. The Hawthorne is located on a private ocean beach and only a short 6 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Standard ocean and non-ocean view motels rooms as well as rooms with a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing