We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a B&B for me!”
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
North of Boston, MA USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Better than a B&B for me!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a last-minute stay at the Hawthorne Motel for 2 nights in September. We usually stay in B&B's when we go to the Cape for a short stay, but we had driven by the Hawthorne several times, and given its location - right on the water - decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised!
Why do I think it is better than a B&B? We had a kitchenette so we could have breakfast any old time we wanted (we're early-risers), and we could eat in our PJ's! Of all the nice B&B's that I know of in Chatham, none is right on the water/beach - a big plus for the Hawthorne! (The huge Chatham Bars Inn resort is close by, and is also on the water/beach, but their prices are beyond our budget.)
Our room was plenty big; we had a king bed that was very comfortable; we had sufficient room to stash our luggage and food; we liked having a TV; the bathroom was good-sized with excellent water pressure and plenty of towels -- even packaged toothbrushes and toothpaste (!!) in addition to soaps and shampoo/conditioner. Oh, and the unit had lots of windows, which I liked a lot, for sunshine and ventilation. And the place was CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! Daily maid service was unobtrusive and appreciated.
The kitchenette has a teeny sink, a small fridge, a small stove-top (no oven), a compact microwave, and enough plates, glasses, utensils, pots & pans, etc. for assembling a simple meal. They even have a Keurig coffee maker and a variety of coffee pods! Sponge and dishwashing detergent were provided. I'm not sure if we were supposed to wash our own dishes, but we did.
Outside each unit were provided comfortable chairs, a chaise lounge, and small tables. It was so nice to sit on the lawn in the sunshine and read, people-watch, and watch the fishing boats. The motel is not far from the Chatham Fish Pier, an easy walk of maybe 15-20 minutes along the beach. The motel has its own private beach, which is also supplied with plenty of chairs and large sun umbrellas.
The owners couldn't have been nicer, as were the couple of staff people we met during our brief stay. Inside the reception area you'll find fresh fruit, and coffee and doughnuts.
Internet was free and worked great.
My only minor complaint is that the walls aren't soundproof; we could hear the gentleman in the next room as he talked on his phone, but by 7pm he was done and we never heard other noise, just the occasional scraping of chairs, and closing doors - not a big deal!
I would definitely stay here again. All of the rooms that faced the back looked good. I don't think I would want one of the front (road-facing) rooms - it was so nice to have a view of the water, and the lovely plantings on the property.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lawn and water. Kitchenette rooms are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    80
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
204
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This quaint motel has a beautiful courtyard with a fantastic view of the water rivaling that of it's neighbor, the Chatham Bars Inn. In addition to the views, the staff is fantastic and the rooms are comfortable. There are a lot of nice touches too, fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby room, a fancy corkscrew in the room, and a souvenir shirt and tote. We opted for the non-ocean view which was surprisingly quiet given it faced the road and parking lot. The Hawthorne is a moderate walk from the center of town (I recommend walking down Seaview St since it has a sidewalk while the other parallel roads do not), but parking during the off-season was not a problem downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in late August to attend a wedding...very clean rooms...private beach...surprise welcome gifts in room...walk to town and to Chatham Bars Inn...worth the extra money for an ocean view...every room has a table and chairs outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JRQ654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The rooms are like standard motel rooms, but everything is fresh and clean. In our efficiency room, there was a Kurig and pods for coffee and just about anything else you might want. Each room has its own table and chairs outdoors so that the fabulous views can be enjoyed. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariannaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very much taken back by the cleanliness and décor of room, not to mention the amazing view. I had stayed at the Hawthorne about 35 years ago and that added to my personal experience because it brought back nice memories.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd level room, not lower level overlooking rear parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlon
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We found the Hawthorne to be a very quiet and relaxing motel right on the ocean in Chatham. The staff was very kind and helpful. Room was very clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy59920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Hawthorne Motel for a wedding and couldn't have been happier. To be honest, the website was not the greatest so we weren't really sure what we were in for. However, don't let that deter you - the rooms are good size and kept very clean.

But what really makes this hotel is the location. Our room happened to face the Cape so we woke up each morning to stunning views of the sunshine over the water. The property is situated right on the beach so after a very short stroll you can be at the water in no time. The hotel does not have a ton of amenities, but who really needs them when you have such natural beauty to keep you busy? There are plenty of chairs and lounges - both on the beach and on the hill above the beach. Both are great spots to relax!

The Hawthorne is also a very short walk to the major attractions in Chatham. Within 10 minutes you can be at the town center where the shops and restaurants are or at the lighthouse and beach area.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorne and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Chatham area.

Room Tip: Depending on cost difference, definitely ask for Cape view room. It made all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
643 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
90 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#4 of 9 in Chatham
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Property: Hawthorne Motel
Address: 196 Shore Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2357
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful waterfront lodging in quaint Chatham, Massachusetts. The Hawthorne is located on a private ocean beach and only a short 6 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Standard ocean and non-ocean view motels rooms as well as rooms with a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing