We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezes, right in Chatham - classic Cape Cod” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Highlander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatham Highlander
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breezes, right in Chatham - classic Cape Cod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went for classic Cape Cod and found it. We were on a budget but did not want to skimp on cleanliness, safety and service. We found it and more. The rooms were personally decorated, clean and provided all we needed at a very fair price for pricey Cape Cod and Chatham. We were walking distance to everything in Chatham and it was so easy for our little ones to get very tired running on the grassy knolls. The weather was crisp and the bike tails were great. They help was nice and the front desk gave us ideas we had not thought of. If you want privacy and quaintness, come here - especially if you want pools, shade and breeze - and comfort for kids. It would be nice if they had a snack bar but then it wouldn't be a motel - but there is a restaurant and c-store across the street. We will be back this summer.

Room Tip: Ask for recently redone rooms - we checked our room first and then switched to a location near the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fireisland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

ROOM: It was our first stay at the Highlander Motel. We found our rooms to be very clean, but outdated with no decoration and not enough furniture in the room. We were a family of four and took a room with two beds. There were only two chairs in the room, so only two of us at a time could sit down - not good if you want to play games with the kids in the evening etc.. On the positive side we were happy to find a refrigerator & a coffee maker in the room.

CHECK-IN: when we were checking in, all we got is a very cold reception; the front desk person didn't even introduce herself. There were no welcoming words, not even a standard "hello-welcome-to-Highlander-Motel". Actually, an initial mail from a robot at Webmaster.com confirming our reservations, was more pleasant & warm, than all the subsequent contact we've had with Highlander Motel front desk/employees.

CHECK-OUT: before we left, I went to the office to see if I still needed to pay/sign for the remaining balance. The lady at the front desk initially said I was all set, but then checked her slips, and informed me I still needed to pay. I did... however, upon my arrival at home, I noticed on my credit card statement that I was double-charged. When I contacted Highlander, the reception lady replied "I know I questioned you when you said you owed but you insisted that you had just done the deposit". In reality I asked if I still needed to pay & sign for the balance; surely, I did not insist to be double-charged.

In the end the money was refunded back to my credit card, but it took several emails & days before it was done.

CONCLUSION: All in all it was not a pleasant stay. Considering the money we paid for the pretty outdated room, I would have expected a bit more hospitality. I do not recommend and I will not be staying at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I adored the Highlander. It was the perfect location to town, but I also like to walk, so the mile may be a little far for some. It is a peaceful place and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. I reserved what was described on their website as "the nicest room" they had so I am not sure what the others look like and the site does a good job describing each room. My room was extremely clean -- and I mean everything. What I didn't like may just be staying in a motel - the noise from people/cars in the parking lot, some noise between rooms though not excessive, and the small TV that had poor reception, which may have been a Comcast issue. The air conditioning was also a little loud. There were good dining choices nearby and I never ran out of things to do. I got the feeling from walking around the small property that the owners care a lot about the appearance of their place and saw workers throughout my stay taking care of things around the grounds. This is one of the few places I've stayed in that far exceeded my expectations and was much nicer in person.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank vacat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen, colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice motel in Chatham, conveniently located, service fine room is large. The main problem I had was that the room, well, frankly it smelled bad. Like stale urine. They need to do something about it, otherwise the place is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Come to Cape every year Labor Day weekend and the Chatham Highlander is an excellent find. We requested our party all be together and we were. Everything you need was close to the motel. Clean rooms, 2 pools, manicured grounds. Could not give it 5 stars because the ice maker was out of service on Labor Day weekend, not all the rooms had flat screened t.v.'s., and $20 cancellation fee no matter what. Look past that and you won't have to look any further for a great stay in Chatham.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending more time at the motel, stay in the back.......more to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was my third stay at the Chatham Highlander. I originally chose it because it was in Chatham and I was bringing my elderly mom and her friend. I returned with my parents, and this time with my husband.

The rooms are not just clean, but immaculate. Even though the motel is old (the bathtub, sink and toilet are those salmon colors from the 50's or 60's), the upkeep is amazing. Beds are comfortable, coffee pots are now found in each room.

I don't give this property a higher rating because the extra touches just aren't there, and easily could be. The rooms are painted stark white. There isn't enough furniture. The TV is small. The toiletries are uninteresting.

When we checked in, we didn't get a welcoming word or even a smile, either. I would think that motel owners or managers would be very thankful for business this year.

I know we will return to this area of the Cape, but next time I will look for a more interesting and friendly place.

Room Tip: the rooms are all clean and decorated the same way, so it won't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we had a change of plans, and asked at check-in to leave one night early in a 4 night stay. they interpret their "cancel only if we can rent the room" to mean "only if we can rent the whole motel including your room". so since they had 2 empty rooms for our last night + ours if we left early, they just said "it doesn't look good". I've rented a lot of rooms in a lot of places, changed a few, but don't think i've ever run into this interpretation. more than a few places seem to have gone out of their way to accomodate us. Not here. As for a place to stay, its clean and 1-2 mile walk to town on the highway. You can do better, for accomodation and for courtesy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#4 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#5 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Highlander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Highlander

Property: Chatham Highlander
Address: 946 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-1865
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatham Highlander 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chatham Highlander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Highlander Hotel Chatham
Highlander Hotel Chatham
Highlander Motel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing