We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location for Fresh Seafood!”

Chatham Pier Fish Market
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Best Location for Fresh Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Chatham Pier Fish Market is conveniently located on "Shore Road" actually Barcliff Avenue near the Chatham Bars Inn. This is a small market on the pier that delivers "big" when it comes to fresh seafood. We waited in line and ordered a pound of cooked shrimp and swordfish. The swordfish was laying on a large cutting board, it appeared that it was most of the fish and sliced off a thick steak the width of the fish. We grilled it for dinner and it was absolutely the best swordfish we had...tasty and fresh! The shrimp were an excellent appetizer that accompanied the meal.

The fish market will cook your lobsters for you if you don't want the mess at home or you can purchase them live. The market had an excellent choice of options for fish and even sells pies.

Our number one choice for seafood on Cape Cod!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    79
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We heard so many great things about this place! When we actually went we were super disappointed. We called in at 5 pm to order 2 lobsters and a clam chowder. The girl on the phone was very rude and sounded very annoyed that we were even calling. She rudely told us we could pick it up in an hour which was fine with us we were in no rush. When we did get there it was very busy, so that's probably why they seemed annoyed on the phone. We ended up waiting another 30 min to get our food. In the 30 minutes we saw some seals which was fun, and we also witnessed someone from the staff being very rude on the phone with another customer! I get that it was really busy but that's not good customer service. Anyway, we get home and checked the lobsters and they were already cracked for us so that was a nice surprise and very helpful. But the lobster was SO over cooked!!!! It was a total of an hour and a half for 2 very overlooked lobsters. It was so disappointing we were looking forward to eating lobsters. I will say that the clam chowder was good. Other than that it was not what we thought it would be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritzconn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A neat detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're in Chatham, this is worth a stop. Call ahead, though, to see if you can time one of the boats coming in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best tasting lobster and seafood!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for fresh seafood, this is the best! The lobster was perfect! We also had scallops, shrimp and clams! All were outstanding. Right off the boat! Fresh tuna was great too! We also purchased a blueberry pie which was very tasty, real blueberries not full of compote! It is a small place and gets crowded but the wait was very short, good service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baldinog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Freshest Fish and Seafood for 50 Miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Unreal -Food, scenery and value all top of the line.
Sushi is excellent, Clams top notch. Good value since its all straight off the boat. You can literally see them coming in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yalmojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Pier Fish Market also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Chatham Pier Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing