We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great historic maps and service.

I was looking for an late 18th century map of N America. Perri found several for me to view. I... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
NewAmericanWorld
Great selection

Maps of Antiquity offers a large variety of historic maps, especially Cape Cod and New England... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Don C
,
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Read all 137 reviews
  
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
130
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews map store cape cod superior service treasure trove great collection new england prices are reasonable old house framing antiques perri shipping postcards shop chart packaging hometown
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 137 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of stopping in out of the rain this summer and were given a tour of the collection by a friendly & knowledgeable woman. She was patient with questions, and was able to speak to some of the more unusual, outdated pieces masterfully.

I bought a beautiful map from 1852 and am so excited to have it framed and give it as a gift!

There was a man that would come out of the back room every so often, say something almost comically rude and unexpected and then retreat to the shadows. After the third time this happened, I exchanged an anxious look with the women and ran out of there.

Won't be coming back. It's a shame, it's such a treasure trove.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank nicolassandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Owner at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

We are sorry to have disappointed you. Bob, the owner, and I have owned this business for over 12 years. We care about our customers, visitors, staff and our business. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations by making you feel more comfortable. Our goal is to make everyone have a terrific experience at our shop and enjoy the maps, prints, framing and information we provide. Danielle - co-owner & wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay
Owner was very informative and knowledgeable of tge area. The apartment was clean, well equipped and extremely comfortable
Add Wellfleet oysters and it was a perfect Cape Cod getaway
We'll be back regularly

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank AsFan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

We're so happy that Chatham Guest Rooms, our sister business, was part of your perfect getaway. Bob really is a wealth of Chatham information, isn't he? We look forward to seeing you again soon! The garden is lovely in autumn...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018

I love maps. So I was so pleased to find Maps of Antiquity while spending a week in Chatham. There's always a day or two during your week on the Cape when the weather's better for poking around shops than it is for the beach. This shop is perfect for that, especially if you love maps. A lot of them are relevant to Cape Cod, MA, and other parts of New England, but there were really maps from all over the place. But an antique map that shows where you're staying for vacation is a pretty cool souvenir :-)

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Wanderer2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review. We certainly agree that maps make great souvenirs, and we hope you'll come back and see us the next time you're visiting-- rain or shine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

Bought a framed map and it is a treasury we will have for many years. The staff was so knowledgeable, kind, and helpful. They have an absolutely remarkable selection of maps and will find you just exactly what you are looking for.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank bostonian501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Front Office Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thank you for your purchase and your review! We are so glad that our staff was able to help you find the perfect map and make your experience enjoyable. With our collection of thousands of antique maps, charts, prints, and postcards, we try to have something that will delight everyone! We hope you will stop in again whenever you are in the area, or in need of an antique map! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

I've made several map orders on-line and have experienced excellent service, quick responses, and the maps I ordered have been exactly as described. Perri has made sure I've been promptly updated on the status of my orders, and one of the reasons Maps of Antiquity will continue to be a special contributor to my collection.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Sunriver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2018

We're so pleased that your experiences with us have been so positive! Perri is a treasure, isn't she? We'll pass along your compliments. It is an honor to be held in high esteem by serious collectors, and we thank you for taking the time to give feedback. If you're ever seeking a special map that is not on our website, do drop us a line so that we can be on the lookout for it. And should you ever find yourself in Chatham, stop in and say hello. There's nothing quite like seeing these unique pieces in person. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews