We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The best shop on the Cape!

I could have easily spent a whole day (or more) looking through the amazing collection of maps and... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2018
cargo588
,
Somerville, Massachusetts
Lovely Stay

What a lovely place to stay Owner was very informative and knowledgeable of tge area. The... read more

Reviewed June 18, 2018
AsFan_11
,
Oakland, California
via mobile
Read all 132 reviews
  
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
125
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews map store cape cod treasure trove new england prices are reasonable old house framing antiques postcards perri shipping shop chart packaging collection hometown sketch
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 132 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Had awesome selection of maps at a range of sizes and prices, including reproductions for a lower cost. Great for gifts!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank cassidyarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thanks, Cassidy! From postcards to wall maps, do aim to have something for everyone-- and every budget. And we might be biased... but we absolutely agree that antique maps make the most thoughtful, personalized gifts. We're so glad you stopped in, and that you liked what you saw. Thanks again for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

So many wonderful maps tucked into the owners home. A delightful stop for enthusiasts. We found just the map we were looking for.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

We're so glad you found the map you were looking for! Although one of the guest rooms in the 18th century farmhouse that also houses Maps of Antiquity was originally outfitted to be an apartment for the owners, they no longer live on-site, although Bob is here most of the time! We hope you'll stop in to see us (and the maps) again soon. Thanks so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Although easy to miss because it looks like a home, Maps of Antiquity is a must stop shop for cartographers and cartogrophiles alike. Filled to the brim with maps New England, the Midwest, and all around the world this store contains the map of your dreams.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for your kind review! Our 18th century farmhouse is a bit unassuming for a business, but we're so very glad you found us. We thank you for pointing others in our direction, too. Our map selection does aim to fulfill our customers' wildest cartographic dreams, and we love the term "cartographiles"! We certainly are cartographiles ourselves. Thanks again, Lizzie! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

When you visit, you will find yourself in a very unique establishment. It's fun to wander through and explore on your own or with assistance. The small-looking structure belies the really incredible selection of maps, many of them unique and one of a kind, within. You never feel under pressure to buy and you have unbiased advice from the staff. Prices are reasonable and you cannot leave without feeling better informed. The staff are all smart, respectful and helpful, making your visit all the more enjoyable. What an experience!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Front Office Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here! We are glad that you had a good time looking through our maps and chatting with the owner and staff. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you in the store again in the future. Thank you again for your business and your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

I bought antique maps of two difference French departments back in July. The colorist did an amazing job bringing the previously black and white maps to life. I was also very happy with the packaging/shipping job that they did. My maps were shipped flat (I expected a tube) and there was no way it could have gotten bent or wet from the elements. The next time I visit Cape Cod I will certainly return!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank leahlynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Front Office Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you are happy with the coloring of the maps you chose. You are right- the coloring really brought them to life! And thank you for noticing our packaging. We do our best to package each item carefully in whatever method will suit the individual piece best. We do sometimes ship in tubes, but your maps were best shipped flat. We are so glad that you had a positive experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! In the meantime, you can always browse our website which has over 11,000 items on it! Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews