We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great historic maps and service.

I was looking for an late 18th century map of N America. Perri found several for me to view. I... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
NewAmericanWorld
Great selection

Maps of Antiquity offers a large variety of historic maps, especially Cape Cod and New England... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Don C
,
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Read all 137 reviews
  
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
130
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews map store cape cod superior service treasure trove great collection new england prices are reasonable old house framing antiques perri shipping postcards shop chart packaging hometown
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 137 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2015

We visited while we were in Chatham for the day. It is a small shop with SO much inside! Interesting items. Maps, old postcards, books, etc. We browsed for over an hour. The owners were so nice and not at all pushy. But they were also standing by to answer all our questions and even got some additional books out to show us when we asked about our hometowns. We did buy a reprint of a pirate map for our 12-year-old, and we all have looked at it and explored it over and over again. It's a very interesting and enjoyable place and we would go back here again in a minute!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for your kind words! We are so pleased that you enjoyed perusing our store. Our Ghost and Treasure maps are a perennial favorite and so much fun! We are so glad that you are loving yout map. Those maps were done by a local who traveled around Cape Cod to gather stories about ghosts, witchs, vikings, treasure, pirates, and more. We have told him that he should write a book to go along with his map! We hope that you will come back again if you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

This quiet shop is home to hundreds of old maps. Everything is well labeled and clearly priced. There is a room for reproduction maps. There are also some interesting old photos and drawings. They do work with custom orders - even creating furniture with map reproductions. Unfortunately this was well over our means. Worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in our shop. We have items of a wide variety of prices, ranging from $2 antique post cards and $25 Cape Cod reproductions and up. We do try to have less expensive items so that everyone can take home a map if they want to! We hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will come back and we can help you find what you are looking for! I know it can be a bit daunting to see some of the bigger price tags, but we can help you find the less expensive items that are mixed in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

There is a wide assortment of maps, and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. I visited the store by myself during a family vacation to Cape Cod, and I didn't even realize that I had been there over an hour. I selected a Cape Cod map, and they shipped to my home across the country. It arrived in perfect condition within three days. I will likely continue to search for new maps online. Great experience overall!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Wes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time in our store. The time really does fly by when looking at all of the antique maps! If there are any things in particular that you are seeking for antique maps, you can always feel free to contact us and we will help-- we have a lot more maps than are currently on our website! Thank you again for your purchase and your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015

This traditional "Cape Cod" house on Main St in Chatham,Ma is situated in a beautiful garden setting. The main floor houses a huge,and fascinating collection of antique maps and reproductions. The owner, Bob and his staff are very professional and knowledgable and the maps can be matted and framed on the premises and shipped wherever needed. I found two beautiful antique maps of Ireland, but came home with a whole wish list of maps i NEED in the future. Upstairs there are guest rooms which we were privileged to stay in. Comfortable,clean and in a perfect location to Chatham and all fun places in Cape Cod. I especially loved the window seat over looking Bob's beautiful gardens. We arranged our stay through sales and service manager Marisa who is as gracious as she is lovely. Many thanks to all,it was a wonderful experience.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank yomomma2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Manager at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the map shop while you were staying in one of our guest rooms! We are glad you found some Ireland maps and had a fun time maping a list of map needs. I keep a list of maps I need too and it seems to get longer every day! Hopefully you will be able to scratch some maps off your list soon (holidays are coming!). Thank you again for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

I realize that most reviewers consider this shop "outstanding." Unfortunately, I cannot agree. The staff is friendly and helpful, but after looking over the maps for sale, most were ordinary and late (19th c. or 20th c.) or reproductions. I collect maps, and do not particularly like to see reproductions, and a significant portion are just that. As for the genuine maps, their prices were high. Parking is tight with only three spaces. If you are interested in decorative maps, you might find this shop quite good. There are better ways to buy genuine early maps.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Probateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Owner at Maps of Antiquity, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Hello, thank you for sharing your concerns.

We would like to take this opportunity to address some of the matters you raised. Regarding our inventory of antique maps, we serve a broad clientele. Some are primarily interested in interior decorating. Others are beginning or expanding their collections. Very serious collectors can consult our website to understand the range of our materials. We have about 7,000 maps, charts, and views listed online, most of which are antiques. Approximately 20% of the maps on display in our store are reproductions, mostly of Cape Cod, which we produce and sell in order to ensure that we can offer high-quality map reproductions at a variety of price points for our many seasonal visitors to our shop. In all, we have approximately 18,000 antique items in our shop with prices ranging from $15 - $9,500. While many of our antique maps average $100 and are not especially rare, we do have a significant collection of original early maps dating back to the 16th century, rare and collectible maritime charts, restored wall maps, and other museum-quality maps that we show to our clients based on their expressed interest. Our shop space is limited, and as such we are only able to display a small portion of our products.

By contacting us in advance of your visit, we may be more prepared to address your specific interests. We are also available by appointment both during and after business hours. We invite you to explore our website for a more complete view of our collection.

By the way, we do have an additional seven spaces of parking in the back of our building. We are sorry that you did not notice our sign pointing to the back parking area. We hope that you will contact us by email or telephone to let us know your area of interest so that we may better serve you. We ship our material all over the world and are open year around.

Thank you for visiting our shop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews