We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place but NO AIR this summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Del Mar

Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Del Mar Bar & Bistro is a popular Chatham nightspot for eating, drinking and socializing, featuring creative bistro entrees, wood fired thin crust pizzas, specialty drinks, an extensive wine list and a great selection of draft beer. Warm, contemporary atmosphere with a large bar. Dinner only.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Favorite place but NO AIR this summer”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently made a reservation at Del Mar, one of our favorite Chatham restaurants, only to discover upon arrival that they are not using air conditioning this season. We cancelled the reservation at the desk and left as it was blisteringly hot in the restaurant.

I have driven by many times since and observed that the windows are open during dinner hours, so this must be a choice made by management. We have not returned and won't until fall. Such a shame. If you can stand the heat, and a good deal of noise, the food is fabulous, and the service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Route6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    166
    34
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food we found in Chatham!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went there twice while on vacation for a week in Chatham. Both nights we were told there would be a 45 minute to an hour wait and it wasn't that long either night. They do have an area you can sit have a drink and order from the raw bar. The oysters were amazing!! All the food we had there was amazing. The first night I had a salad with fire roasted peaches & figs...one of the best salads I have ever had. I had a delicious cod for dinner the first night and salmon the second. Done perfectly. My kids had the bolognese pizza and the italian pizza and loved them. My son carried his left over slices all the way home to New Jersey. Great service, not to be missed while in Chatham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMB313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waited an hour.......”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

.......but was absolutely worth it! We showed up without a reservation, and were told that there was a 45-60 minute wait. We settled ourselves at the bar, and watched as party after party arrived. On cue, an hour later we were seated.

The food was sensational. My wife had the Japanese ravioli to start followed by the roast cod. I had the tempura prawn followed by the seared yellowfin tuna. Each dish was beautifully presented, and arrived in a very timely manner, following our protracted wait.

The staff were exceptionally busy, but uniformly excellent. The restaurant had an excellent, buzzy, vibe for a Wednesday night. Highly, highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Chatham, MA”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Chic, atmosphere. The booths are semi-circular, and make you feel at home. The bar is classy. Very professional & nice servers, and the food is what you would get at an upscale bistro in Boston. Fabulous selection wines at reasonable prices too. There is a covered outside section that we love, and when it gets chilly they turn on the gas heaters. We have near been disappointed at Del Mar...Top Notch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank big52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere and food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

14 people went to get away from the ridiculousness of the pricing at Chatham bars Inn that we were staying. Great bar scene, a little tight and cramped, but quaint. Just fantastic food from steaks to seafood to pizzas. A 'can't miss' and a 'will return'.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CdrMcBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Mar also viewed

 

Been to Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing