We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Mar

Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Del Mar Bar & Bistro is a popular Chatham nightspot for eating, drinking and socializing, featuring creative bistro entrees, wood fired thin crust pizzas, specialty drinks, an extensive wine list and a great selection of draft beer. Warm, contemporary atmosphere with a large bar. Dinner only.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Great seafood and very nice atmosphere. A true gem we found in Chatham after a week of junk food in NYC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kseniya29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    163
    34
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant with excellent seafood, Duck, even pizza with great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We have a place on Cape Cod and eat at Del Mar at least ten times a year. The menu has great variety featuring fresh seafood, game, pizza etc. My wife often orders fresh seafood, occasionally very good pizza and I love the duck. Their onion tart is outstanding as one of your appetizers. The owner, John is very hands on and has an experienced and excellent staff. We always take advantage of their call ahead reservation option. If you are vacationing on CC eat at Del Mar!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
358 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Salmon dinner was a hit with one member of our party and two raved about the chicken/gnocci dish. One said "it was the best chicken dish I ever had!". This is from someone who travels and dines out a lot. Thumbs up! Good martini too (Raspberry, grapefruit essence...yum.)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food, bistro-type feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food was excellent with a variety of nice options for seafood and other choices. This is a bistro-type restaurant so the tables were covered in paper. This is fine, but not formal by any means. There was a nice mix of families, couples and groups and it was a bustling place, somewhat noisy. We had yellowfin tuna and salmon, and both were delicious. The service was excellent; our server was knowledgeable and easily responded to our questions about the meals. Be prepared to wait for your table...but it's worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best dinner in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a neat place. Very crowded, they accept call ahead. They offered us a booth for 4 even though we were only 2 and larger parties who had come after us were also waiting. We opted to eat at the bar, which was a great decision. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Wine selection great. I had a halibut special with quinoa and root vegetables which was the best seafood I have had ever. The fish was done to perfection and the flavors were out of this world. My husband had a filet mignon and was also raving about it. Fun atmosphere, busy place for a good reason.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank micolsBedford_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing