We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came back second time and it was as great as expected.”
Review of Chatham Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chatham Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Hills, NY
2 reviews
“Came back second time and it was as great as expected.”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We first came to the inn last year and had the most wonderful time due , in no small part, to the excellent level of service of Brian and Nick as well as the tasteful decoration and cleaniness of the inn. Nick and Brian have made some really great improvements such as adding a back patio and renovating the bathrooms. For those of you who have never visited Cape Cod before ( as I had not done until last year. The choices of activities and the beauty and diversity of the Cape are mindboggling and I still did not get to see everything that I wished to. Brian and Nick go out of their way to make useful suggestions for day trips to other towns on the Cape or ferry rides to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket and recommend the best places to eat in Chatham or elsewhere. Hopefully I will return again one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeLover711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
404
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A small hotel run brilliantly by Brian and Nick with support from Natalie. As others have said, this is a really comfortable and charming place, The inclusive breakfasts were lovely and freshly prepared. We booked two rooms for 5 days and our teenage children were pleased to have free wi-fi. We stayed in a number of places in New England including substantial hotels and resorts but I think this was our favourite. A short walk takes you to the Fish Pier where you can see seals congregating as the fishing boats return from midday. There is a pretty beach at the bottom end of Main Street (turn right and then park in the side road by the bright green and yellow shop). It would have been good to have access to some tea/coffee making facility but that is a minor gripe. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Brian and Nick were charming hosts; full of fun facts, helpful directions and suggestions for our visit. This historic Inn has been beautifully refreshed and furnished throughout and the grounds are a sweet retreat close to all Chatham has to offer. No matter what the season, a stay with them is a delight.

Room Tip: Room#2 is a ground floor Queen and Room#5 either King or Twins that connect by back hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harborday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. We will definitely return for another stay

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

First trip to Cape Cod and we were told the town of Chatham was beautiful and it is!! The Chatham Gables Inn was beautifully resorted and decorated. Our room was on the first floor and had a gas fireplace and the breakfast was wonderful. The inn keepers are great and very helpful as to what to see in the area. Take the Harwich Ferry to Nantucket instead of the Hayannis Port Ferry as it is less crowded. Unless you need to take your car then you will have to leave out of Hyannis Port. I would not bring my car as the island is very walkable and there is bus sevice to other small towns on the island. Province Town (P-Town) at the tip of Cape Cod was beautiful as we enjoyed the one hour drive to the tip. Make sure you climb the tower for an amazing view overlooking the whole town and the tip of Cape Cod with the lighthouse in the distance. Eat your self silly on Lobster Rolls, crab cakes, and any thing else from the ocean. If you love seafood this is the place to eat it!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh34747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I went here with my boyfriend back in March and we had a wonderful stay! When we arrived at the Chatham Gables Inn, we were greeted immediately and felt right at home. I came home from Chatham raving about how much I loved staying there, and my parents decided to surprise me with another night's stay there for my birthday-such a great gift!

The location is great, and the Inn was clean- I would recommend it to anyone looking to spend a weekend in Chatham!
Thanks Brian and Nick!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayHoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Gables Inn. Hosts Nick and Brian could not have been more helpful on this our first visit to the cape. The Inn is in beautiful condition and the breakfast was something to look forward to each morning. I highly recommend the Gables Inn and suggest that you book early, it is a real gem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Gables Inn

Property: Chatham Gables Inn
Address: 364 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's most beautifully-restored sea captain's mansion, boasting authentic Nantucket charm & hospitality, is a gorgeous award winning SELECT REGISTRY boutique inn located within walking distance to Chatham's historic downtown village and incredible beaches. Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's premiere adult luxury property is one of the prestigious BED & BREAKFAST DIAMOND COLLECTION, and winner of the 2011 Chatham Preservation Award. Named "Fodor's Choice" for all hotels in Chatham, this classic New England inn features superior service, luxury spa amenities, bountiful breakfast, and a peacefully beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chatham Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Gables Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing