We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never be comfortable in my own bed again”
Review of Chatham Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chatham Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I will never be comfortable in my own bed again”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Chatham Gables Inn speaks to the passion of the innkeepers. It is so obvious that they have poured their heart and soul into making this inn truly special. From the moment you arrive; your whole body starts to relax. There are over-sized leather chairs by a roaring fire, a dining room for games or wifi, a sun porch with bistro tables overlooking the gardens and bird bath. We stayed in room #7, the decor is fabulous and it was immaculate. It has the most comfortable king size bed I have ever slept in. The room was drenched in sunlight from the bay window. At night the drapes can be drawn so that the only thing to wake you in the morning is the smell of bacon. The only thing I might caution someone about is that this inn is definitely meant for relaxing. It may have been because we went during the off-season but there was a hushed feeling throughout. There was no activity to speak of on the grounds or in the common areas. The slightest sound could be heard throughout the inn. For the most part, it is lights out by 10. However, when you're in a room/bed as decadent as they are, it's not a sacrifice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake577105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
404
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Gorgeous Inn in a gorgeous town on the cape. We had one of our best vacations at the Chatham Gables Inn. It's beautifully decorated, meticulous, and top quality. From the soft sheets to the plush towels, every detail was perfect. Renovated to have all the amenities but keep the character of the house. Delish cooked to order breakfast that hubby raved about all day. The innkeepers were terrific and gave us great ideas for our day trips. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyblackdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2011

room 1 was wonderful, spacious, and the taste of the design team was wonderful, finest yet, from Nantucket, Newport, Manchester,By. To Freeport,Maine.
The sitting area was simple, but perfect,and so peaceful, await another trip this fall. scored 11 ...Thanks to the great hosts,whom made all possible.
Terry and Amy

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The Lady and I took advantage of a Groupon and seized Room Number 1 for a steal at $100. We arrived in the late afternoon and were greeted by an intern who gave us the rundown on the building, a map of Chatham (and a wonderful dinner suggestion) and keys to the room.

The room is opulent, there's a large comfortable bed, some antique furniture, a pair of chairs and a small table in front of the gas fireplace. The bathroom is clean and the water pressure pleasant. We only stayed one night and didn't get a chance to try the shower.

There is a communal room with board games, wine glasses to use if you're holding and in the mood (we were), and a wonderful glassed in Patio where you'll find breakfast in the morning. I had some delicious French Toast (with eggs, bacon and toast) while the lady kept it simple with bacon and eggs.

Service was courteous and amiable and we're told the building has been refurbished by Brian & Nick. Looks wonderful! Delightful atmosphere.

On the downside, it certainly would've been out of our price range if not for the groupon, but it's definitely worth the cash you pay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristerR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This was our first visit and we will return. The home is wonderfully designed and very cozy. The room was clean and beautiful. We could enjoy a romantic time infront of the fire while also having access to wireless if needed. It is a wonderful mix of a serene setting with up-to-date amenities.

The breakfast we had every morning was better than most we've had at restaurants. They had fresh fruit every morning and delicious pastries. After having stayed at multiple B&B's, the Chatham Gables Inn is at the top of the list.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncm3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed in room #7 and it was beautiful. Plenty of sunshine by day and very quiet and restful at night. We can't remember when we slept better.
Brian and Nick were gratious hosts and recommended the Impudent Oyster for dinner; it was great. Breakfast in the sunny breakfast area was also great; we woke to the smell of bacon and couldn't wait to get downstairs.
We highly recommend the Chatham Gables Inn.
Mike & Dava

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsox1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This Inn is brand new and the owners have focused so far mainly on the rooms and linens, which are all exquisite- absolutely top-notch. The bed was comfortable and lavishly and perfectly appointed with generous pillows and gorgeous white linens. However, we found that there was nothing else to do there other than be in our room. There is nothing going on in the common area, no games or rooms to meander through...just a formal, sparsely decorated living room that was not made to feel cozy. The living room had kind of a "lobby" feel to it. There were things broken throughout the Inn, one of which was the front door that slammed open and shut in the wind, and wouldn't fasten, which we could hear from our room, and another of which was the common area gas fireplace. The beverage options were sparse and there were no snacks left out- there was just bottled water in a mini-fridge and a few tea bags with two mugs with a house full of guests. There was no access to the kitchen or other beverage choices, or snacks of any kind, all of which was a little disappointing as well. There are only two real common rooms and so the Inn is very small in terms of commons space. The two rooms that were available could be made to be much more cozy and welcoming, perhaps some games and blankets would be a nice touch. The service was excellent. The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our room but with there being nothing else to the Inn to enjoy, we would not consider it the true B&B-type experience we were looking for. We were looking for more of an experience, not just a room with a bed, and so for us, we would not consider this Inn in future plans.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BostonTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
643 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Gables Inn

Property: Chatham Gables Inn
Address: 364 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's most beautifully-restored sea captain's mansion, boasting authentic Nantucket charm & hospitality, is a gorgeous award winning SELECT REGISTRY boutique inn located within walking distance to Chatham's historic downtown village and incredible beaches. Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's premiere adult luxury property is one of the prestigious BED & BREAKFAST DIAMOND COLLECTION, and winner of the 2011 Chatham Preservation Award. Named "Fodor's Choice" for all hotels in Chatham, this classic New England inn features superior service, luxury spa amenities, bountiful breakfast, and a peacefully beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Chatham Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Gables Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing