We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I for a 2 night escape. Its been a while since we could do the bed and breakfast thing so what a nice way to remember just how much we liked this when we were sans kids. Its just what you'd imagine a New England bed and breakfast to be. Cozy and old but very well maintained. Grounds immaculate. High tea very nice and food both delicious and interesting. Service is outstanding. Feels like a bed and breakfast resort.

Would also recommend walking to the chatham bars inn for a meal. Pricey but feels right when you're there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Travel sans kids definitely takes on a different feel and we are delighted you chose us for your romantic escape. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

This really is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are cozy and nicely decorated. Ours had a fireplace and direct access to the garden with lounge chairs. A wonderful place to drink your morning coffee, and they bring a big pot right at your door at a time that suits you – you just leave a note on your door with the desired time. Another wonderful aspect of the service is the turn down every night, something I didn’t expect from a B&B. Returning at night from dinner to find your room not only freshly made, but with cozy mood lighting was fantastic. Even laundry was on offer at this place!
The Inn itself is very inviting. A typical Cape villa, surrounded by a huge flowering garden. It also boasts a pool which is great for those warm summer days. The only minor downside is the location. It is a bit out of the city center and away from the best beaches. This isn’t a big issue although summer is busy with loads of traffic. An alternative is to use the other more nearby beaches.
The service is what you expect from a B&B – personalized, helpful and friendly. The innkeeper stops by at breakfast and is eager to give you tips and even arrange practical things such as ferry to Marthas Vineyard. The breakfast itself was served either in the breakfast room or outside in the garden, and was truly a gourmet experience. Every day a different menu, giving you two daily options of a hot entre – one savory and one sweet.
I strongly recommend this as an excellent option when vacationing on the cape, as it combines the best aspects of a B&B without sacrificing the service of an upscale hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us this past summer. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. For those reading, I want to clarify that turndown service is automatic in season and on request during our slower months. And we agree - it is nice to return from dinner to a room all ready for relaxing and a good night sleep! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Every little detail is thought through, and you know that anything you need, just ask. I honestly don't think there is anything I can say that hasn't already been said 1000x already in these reviews, so I will just concur. This is a wonderful place with wonderful rooms wonderful service and wonderful food. It's the best B&B/Inn I have ever stayed at in my life, on a global scale.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyo_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We love, love, love when guests tell us we are the best inn they have ever stayed. So thank you for that huge compliment. I'm glad we lived up to the reviews you had read and met your expectations. We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A B&B with a lot of services and complimentary services and snacks. Very cozy feeling. I would say this B6B was something between a cozy hotel and a B&B.
With room confirmation we got information on places to dine at. This was very helpful and resulted in that a reservation was made through Captain's house inn. This turned out to be a good thing to do as the resturant was fully booked when we got there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 355SvF355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Finding the balance between small hotel and cozy B&B is just what we intend to do here at the Captains House so I'm glad that goal was achieved. And yes...even in the quieter months, many restaurants can get busy, particularly on weekends, so never hesitate to have us book a table in advance! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Captain's House meets all the usual expectations for an excellent B & B, including the homey Victorian appointments, augmented here because we're in New England with colonial touches. It does it one better by providing, for example, a nice little reading room with port and sherry, so you're not confined to your quarters. Other nice points are a terrycloth-lined robe, chocolates before bed, and of course the open kitchen with snacks and warm drinks. Some particularly thoughtful touches are the very high-end toiletries that even include little tubes of toothpaste, pre-recorded classical music in an ipod dock, and the morning delivery of hot drinks to your room.

Breakfast is quite ample, and the proprietors very helpful with suggestions and directions. The interns are British university students, so they're quick, helpful, and pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sedgwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciated all the details we feel sets us apart from larger hotels. When we go away ourselves, we feel it is these little touches that make a difference. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent two days, staying in the Hiram Harding room. The staff, room and meals were all above expectations. The property is very well maintained, and our room was very comfortable and inviting; we enjoyed the working fireplace. The staff are thoughtful and gracious. Breakfasts are well prepared and creative. We enjoyed tea in the cool fall afternoon. Would definitely recommend the Captain's House Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Hiram Harding is a great room this time of year with its wood floors and walls and oversized log burning fireplace. It is a year-round favorite, but really sets the mood during the cooler months. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We loved this property - our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and spotless. The staff paid close attention to the details that turns a good experience into a great one. They were the perfect blend of attentive and invisible. The food was incredible - everything from breakfast, to tea time, to evening snacks was delicious and unique. The property and experience had a very English feel, particularly the gardens. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. I would check out their website for a description of each room to determine whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you noticing our efforts to take guests' experiences to the next level. We hope to see you on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: $218 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing