We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Comfortable Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful evening at this inn, on a special promotion offered by Distinctive Inns of New England. It happened to coincide with plans we had already made for the following two evenings at another inn nearby. Thus we extended our plans to include this beautiful inn. The room in one of the other buildings on the property was very comfortable, with two lush recliners, as well as a sofa, and the king sized bed that was so far off the ground, you literally had to jump into it, or use the wooden steps provided next to it. Deep dark wood, wide floorboards, and the fireplace was an added delight. Highly recommend to all to check this inn out. The innkeepers and staff were very hospitable, and the breakfast menu offered choices. You can also have coffee delivered to your room in the morning. Looking forward to returning to this inn in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

We enjoyed our "off season" trip to the Cape. The Captain's House provided a quiet, comfortable, and relaxing stay. We had the Inn to ourselves and the owner's and staff were very hospitable. Our only suggestion is warmer water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeloverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Captain's House Inn has it all- great rooms with ambiance (fireplace), and cleanliness. The afternoon tea and breakfast were fabulous, and all of the staff were friendly and attentive. We reall enjoyed our stay and would recommend this inn to anyone going to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evrmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Inn Keepers and the staff made our wedding more special and romantic than we could have imagined. The planning was made easy with a few choice decisions. All we had to do was show up! We stayed in the Wild Pigeon room. The room was fantastic; clean and spacious with a touch of grandeur. The fire place was a romantic touch and the king sized bed with layers of bedding and pillows was delightful. While the grounds are gorgeous, well cared for, and speak for themselves, the real magic of the Inn is the professionalism of the staff, the conscientiousness of the chef and waitstaff to assure my meals and snacks were gluten free, and the amenities available to ensure you feel the essence of the Inn and the ambiance of Cape Cod. Above all, the treatment we received was absolutely VIP. For a weekend away this is a wonderful place to simply treat yourself and the one's you love.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitali2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked the Captain's House Inn for only 1 night in December, and we had a fantastic time. We had tea and scones near the fireplace by the dining room, and later on were able to light up a DURALOG (or whatever) in the Hiram Harding room.

From the photos online, I was worried the Hiram Harding room would be a little too "manly sea captain" -- lots of dark paneled wood, high bed making the room seem small like on a ship -- but it turns out the room was really great. The room felt a lot bigger than we thought it would be. We lit the fireplace and watched a movie on DVD (since it was freezing outside).

Ideally they'd spruce up the bathroom a bit more; they were certainly clean but showing their age. Putting a more modern bathroom in could be quite fun (rain shower head, more lighting, etc.).

Lots of charm in this bed and breakfast, and a very good deal in the off season.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bostonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Captain's House Inn in Chatham is one of our favorite Inns. The rooms are perfect. We have stayed in at least 3 different rooms and loved every one. The rooms are cozy and romantic. The breakfasts are delicious and served in a sunny, beautiful breakfast room.
The innkeeper was very attentive and made sure she addressed each guest each morning.
The Inn in a little pricey but worth the price for the attentiveness, service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NONAME567_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Captain's House Inn is beautifully appointed and welcomes you upon entering. Allowing for individual freedom to explore the kitchen and help yourself to hot drinks and freshly baked treats gives the sense of being a guest in a home that caters to comfort and relaxation. Asked if we needed any reservations, we gladly accepted and were rewarded with one of the most delicious meals I've ever tasted on the Cape--The Impudent Oyster--extraordinary! High tea was lovely and comes complete with British interns serving it with their lovely accents. A truly lovely experience. I would highly recommend this Inn and will consider it a destination when going to Chatham in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: $218 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing