We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We recently returned from our stay (for our honeymoon). We booked the Lydia Harding suite which I highly recommend for anyone looking for a romantic weekend getaway. The room was precisely what you see on the website, it was incredibly spacious and very well maintained. The staff was terrific and gave us the rundown as soon as we arrived (this includes a concierge area, open kitchen policy complete with freshly baked goods nightly, and a library area). The room has two gas fireplaces which serves to heat the entire suite, there are also two DVD players in the sitting room area as well as access to a patio area on the back of the building. The bathroom was amazing complete with a jacuzzi tub (my only issue was there was no bubble bath although absolutely every other personal need was met, even a toothbrush holder!) and shower with jets on the wall in addition to the shower head. The bedroom has a huge four poster beds which has luxuriously soft sheets.

As another reviewer pointed out, breakfast, cream tea, sherry/port whenever you wish, and dinner are included with room rates. We had dinner plans each night but got breakfast there on our last morning and it was delicious.

I loved it so much I wanted to move in! The owners have thought of everything...there is an Ipod docking station in the room and there was a soothing cd playing as we came into the room. There are tons of products in the bathroom, including luxuriously soft robes, a small refrigerator, board games, books...I can't say enough about it.

We will certainly be back...at off season rates this room was a steal!

  • Liked — Personal touches throughout the Inn....felt very welcoming
  • Disliked — Nothing....loved it!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank niboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    69
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
85
829
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The Captains House Inn is faultless. We stayed in the Wild Pigeon suite and I would definitely recommend this room to anyone who is looking for a relaxing retreat. The food at the Inn is wonderful. The rate includes a choice of delicious breakfasts, daily afternoon tea served in your room with the later option of home-made biscuits at supper time available from the 'open kitchen'. The service is excellent and Chatham makes a wonderful base from which to explore the rest of the Cape. Other highlights to note are the 32 inch flat screen tv with extensive DVD library, extremely luxurious bed and bed linen. For us this sets the bench-mark against which all future accomodation will be measured. Exceptional.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Holibobsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2008

Having visited the Captain's House Inn during January, I was extremly impressed with all aspects of the Inn. The buildings were immaculate, the service even better. Throughout the stay all my needs were taken care of, and of particular mention was the service the staff gave. They were always on hand to attend to my every need, always smiling, always willing.

Thank you for such a great holiday!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We have stayed at this Inn a few times now and the first time was definitely our best experience. The difference was the staff. The inn rotates service staff from overseas and some groups are better than others.

Overall, the hotel is very well maintained - the grounds meticulously manicured and the rooms updated and clean. Jill, the owner goes out of her way to make special arrangements for visitors, and the maids are usually friendly.

The food is quite good and I love the special touch of late night cookies and tea. This year was definitely an improvement over last year - the cookies were of more variety and better quality and were replenished throughout the evening (on one visit, we had only one kind throughout the entire weekend and ran out within an hour).

Afternoon tea is absolutely a must. The tea sandwiches are our favorite, as well as the scones. Love the open kitchen policy.

The only reason I didn't give a five star is because of the inconsistency of service. I would have given it a 3.5 star this previous visit (versus 4.5 stars for some other years).

This year's staff was aloof and unfriendly. When we would wander around the property, we had the feeling that we were somehow in the way. The vibe was definitely different than our previous visits where the staff would smile and greet us, and any request would be met with a willing smile and attitude.

The coldness this year extended to all levels of service (except for Jill - who was went out of her way to be of help as always), so it was a bit of a disappointment, given our wonderful experience with staff in prior visits.

We plan to be back but really hope that the Inn owners train their management and rotating staff more consistency on warmth, friendliness, and service.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, afternoon tea
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We had a amazing stay here, everything down to the last detail was taken care of and the staff were so friendly and welcoming, they helped us arrange some dinner reservations and were always so professional, nothing was too much trouble, the owners work really hard and this shows in the excellent customer service and high standards throughout the whole of the inn. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious with so much choice and not your usual run of the mill sausage and bacon items either, they really go to town here and offer you something different and out of the ordinary, the afternoon tea was a dream and as for the sherry, port and cookies in the evening, you could not fault this place! We stayed in the wild hunter room which was very impressive with a large bed, private terrace and fabulous whirlpool tub. We loved the pool area as well. The rooms were immaculate and well maintained. Chatham was easily walked in 15/20 minutes. This place really was one of our favourite stop overs in New England, we will definitely stay here when we return to Chatham.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobbinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

From the moment we arrived, everything about our stay here was perfect!
The room we booked was excellent - huge bed, fabulous wet room. The service was second to none - breakfast was amazing, cookies & hot chocolate in the evening was excellent. Free internet access was good. Parking not a problem. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners or the girls working at the inn (all students from the UK).

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EricWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

This is truly one of those places where you get what you pay for. It's not inexpensive, but definitely worth it. Great inn run by a nice young couple, using English interns for the day-to-day things. Service was over and beyond. Breakfasts were wonderful, in a great setting. Though not really withing easy walking distance of the town, everything is close by. They made some great restaurant recommendations.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
635 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
16.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Property: Captain's House Inn
Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing