We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Soon; The Sea Is Encroaching” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatham Lighthouse

Chatham Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most famous and interesting lighthouses on Cape Cod.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Visit Soon; The Sea Is Encroaching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We visit Chatham almost every summer, and the recent new storm cut south of here seems to be altering the beach. Last summer, there was perhaps 200 yards+ of beach between the parking area and the waterline. This November when we went back, we were alarmed to see that perhaps half of that was gone. The sea is chewing in toward the light.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred_PA_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    147
    60
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Iconic landmark next to a great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a must-see spot for visitors to Cape Cod. After taking your pictures of the lighthouse, go for a walk along the beach. From Fall, through winter and into spring the beautiful beaches here are practically deserted.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank InLondonAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True New England.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

There aren't many places where you can drive down a slow road lined with lovely old New England homes, park steps away from an essential working lighthouse, and wander a beach on the Atlantic Ocean. Best in the "off" season for parking reasons, or at dusk, but especially at dawn when the sun rises over the ocean horizon and the golden glow shines on the lighthouse as it flashes back, winking hello to the new day. Amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lovely lighthouse across from the beach. Beautiful in Autumn when the crowds have died down. Nice walk from the town of Chatham.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful light house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is one of the beautiful lighthouses I was able to visit during my Cape Cod vacation. I've attached photos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank survivorlookinforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing