We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #3 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwatchers flock to this Cape Cod wildlife habitat with a special emphasis on migratory birds.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice views. Wish the info center was more helpful th regarding the walking paths. More of a detailed view or trail... Maybe we missed it?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    43
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Go at low tide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We went @ hi tide so couldn't really walk on the beach and the roads were buggy so it was amiss for us unfortunately.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirlnyc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Take the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

An awesome experience walking along a beach that few people take the time to visit. Two ways to go once you get to the beach.Left is cool during any tide and captures the essence of cape cod. Go right and make sure it is low tide or you will be walking through the water and can be a bit challenging.great time

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tellithowitis06111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must See while on the Cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A local told us about this refuge. Went there 3 times the week we were in Chatham. Beautiful, quite, serene. Even took my dog there for a walk. The site has a Visitor's Center which I did not go to (was not open due to the fact that I went for my walks very early in the morning). Plan to return next year.
Also can take a seal watch from this site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donnacapecodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A must-see free spot in Chatham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The drive to the refuge was very nice. There was a nice parking lot and the people working in the reception were very helpful. They have a lovely stuffed owl in the visitor center. A very short walk leads to two overlooks and a few minutes farther there are stairs down to the beach. We did a short beach walk that we had to cut short because our baby needed to feed. We'd like to go back a second time and walk the beach more. If you have a baby, bring a baby carrier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cunparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing