We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwatchers flock to this Cape Cod wildlife habitat with a special emphasis on migratory birds.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

we went at low tide so there was more beach to walk along... the view was fantastic and there were a couple of Osprey who were catching the wind thermals... water was clear and when we went there were not very many tourists, unlike at chatham where it was packed with no parking available

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KatnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    48
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a little detour”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had hoped to take a ferry over to Monomoy Island so we went to the National Wildlife Refuge. After talking to a ranger, and learning that the ferries were discontinued, we walked the 20 yards to the observation area. What a view. We then went down the very long staircase to the water. You can apparently walk for miles over to Stage Harbor. We hope to do this on our next visit to Chatham. Worth getting off the beach to go see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank paulfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bring bug spray!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I stumbled across Monomoy while looking on Tripadvisor. Since it had such good reviews I wanted to take a look. I used the directions from the wildlife site. It is surrounded by private roads so don't give up. The parking is very limited as other reviews stated. It is very beautiful and serene. My husband and I walked the beach to the end of the reserve and saw numerous wildlife. I wish the boats couldn't come between the reserve and Monomoy. It seems yo disrupt its peacefulness. One negative thing, which is at most beaches in the summer, are the green heads and sand gnats. Just bring yor bug spray (which I didn't). Other than that it is totally worth the trip.

Helpful?
5 Thank KDM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must see while in Chatham”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Absoutley gorgeous. By far the most beautiful place in the cape. I did not see any seals at this location but it was a beautiful walk very quiet and serene. Very small parking lot so drive all in one car if you can. Don't miss it. It's #1 on here for a reason!

Helpful?
2 Thank ineedavacation88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Escape from busy Chatham to this paradise”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We absolutely loved the Monomoy refuge. We only visited the beach around the Morris Island since we could not take our 7 month old son on a boat, but we had a fantastic time. There were lots of deer fly and other bugs getting on our nerves so we left after a while, but water was calm and very warm (extremely shallow though, so just good for immersing feet, playing with a baby a little bit etc). It is clean and quiet, and that was the most important feature for us. We did not see any seals or even that many birds, but the views were amazing and the quiet atmosphere was just worth the drive. The outlooks were also very nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rasasthali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing