We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seal tour”

Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #3 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwatchers flock to this Cape Cod wildlife habitat with a special emphasis on migratory birds.
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seal tour”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went on a seal tour to Monomoy Island. It was very foggy when we went out, so our seal prospects were a bit limited. However, we saw a seal on the beach and plenty on the water. It was very informative and we got some good pictures.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rhondylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    46
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach/nature walk in late May”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Visited with two little kids (1 and 5) and my wife. We enjoyed a leisurely stroll on the beach while the kids splashed through the tidal pools and looked for horseshoe crab tests. In the fall there are often harbor seals close by but we didn't see any this day. There were a handful of surf fishermen and clammers. Parking is limited to about ten cars. There are public bathrooms and a visitors center but no trash (pack out what you pack in). The visitors center has a room where small kids can touch various items ranging from shells to skeletons. The park is 5-10 mins from Main St., past Chatham Light. Ice cream on Main St. was a nice close to the day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Biggeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a beautiful area with a wild open beach. This is not a commercialised area but is an area of outstanding beauty.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Montagnedereves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful and serene”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great place for a walk, went with a guide from the Chatham Bars Inn and not sure if I would have really known where to go otherwise

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank allie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
205 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Visited this past weekend. Very serene area. We parked in the lot at the lighthouse. The sign says 30 minutes only, but we were there for about 2 hours. Plenty of open spots in March even on the weekend, so no reason to enforce it I guess.

For summer visitors there are plenty of signs warning of the dangerous currents in the inlet. There is also a pond on the penisula with signs warning of health risk in touching the water (bacteria?)

It was fun walking down the beach, having it pretty much to ourselves. Lots of shells, minimal seaweed. Just the sounds of the waves crashing on the fine tan sand.

There are pay telescopes at the parking area (25 cents) and we used them for looking at the pack of seals on the north side of the island across the inlet. Looked like maybe a hundred seals all gathered together waving flippers (temps were in the upper 50s). Other wildlife were snails, gulls, and some mallard ducks (which I hadn't expected to see there).

Its a bit hard to find as I didn't really see many signs. From Rt 28, through the middle of Chatham east bound, go straight when Rt 28 takes a 90 degree turn North, and follow main road East then it turns South to the parking area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing