We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country experience - fabulous views!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlemont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Warfield House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Charlemont B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Two friends and I recently stayed at this lovely, comfortable inn and felt at home right away. Our thanks to the innkeeper for her care and friendliness in meeting our needs, and serving such a wonderful breakfast! The inn is only 10 minutes up a hill from Shelburne Falls, with fabulous views from the sitting/dining/and upstairs rooms! Can't wait to go back for a visit in the Fall. The inn is part of a small, working farm; and, if you're so inclined, you can have fun feeding hay to the horses and visiting with the llamas, cows, sheep, goats, and family pets. There are also 53 acres of hiking trails to enjoy. Although not "plush", the rooms are clean and neatly furnished, so one has the feeling of living there and not just visiting. A full kitchen is also available for your use. All in all, it made for a great winter "Cabin Fever" getaway and very relaxing time!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2009

Thank you for a lovely, relaxing weekend. The hospitality was first rate, as was the wonderful breakfast. The rooms were all lovely with everything we needed. The views of the mountains and nearby ski slopes were breathtaking, and we enjoyed visiting with the horses, sheep and cows. Can't wait to come back!!! Thanks for everything. Lynne

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Everyone was very nice on the phone, but when we got there and attempted to make tea in the kitchen, we found that it smelled bad and was inhabited by mice. The innkeeper knew about it (we talked to her the next day) and said the management knew as well.

When I called, the manager first asked me in an accusatory tone why we were in the kitchen, which was already pretty poor behavior (we needed a hot tea: the microwave is in the kitchen).
Then, when pressed, she said they were sorry but we had arrived in the middle of their cleaning up from the mice. I told her she should have let us know before. She surely wouldn't have liked to sleep in a place with mice! She agreed and all she could offer was an insincere apology.

I would stay away from the place, there are a million of cute B&B in the area! Hopefully kinder managers and no mice.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warfieldhouseinn, Marketing at The Warfield House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2009

Thank you for you comments about your stay at The Warfield House Inn.

Please remember that our B&B is part of a working farm. One of the many pleasures of living on a farm is the ability to live with animals of all types. We even have chickens that cross the road, for no reason at all!

New Englanders are used to situations where critters go where they are not supposed to go. Mice and lady bugs included. In late summer into the early fall, lady bugs will congregate in large numbers, and seek shelter. The same is true with mice. They are seeking a cozy resting place for the winter.

Cleanliness is of utmost importance to us. We do our best to stay on top of these natural occurrences, often, several times a day. The farm manager has addressed the mouse problem as soon as we became aware of it and we have not had a problem since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed two nights. Recently renovated rooms, many with spectacular view of pristine valley. Beautiful walking trails on the property. Interesting farm. But our room hadn't been vacuumed in at least a week (dead flies on the floor), and several rooms, including ours - were infested with ladybugs. The solo inkeeper (an employee, the owner is nonresident) was preoccupied with a wedding reception, and cut corners - coffee from paper cups; didn't bother making up rooms during the day. A mixed bag.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csquaredBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Coming from Florida, we wanted a room with a view and boy did we get one. We booked both 3rd floor rooms of the house. They were spacious with Queen beds. There were sky lights over the beds, which was great for star viewing but not good for sleeping in... Rooms are available in the other buildings on the property but can't speak to them. The house was simple and quaint. Breakfast was nothing to speak of at all, which was disappointing but the innkeeper was friendly on this farm. Total peace and quiet surrounded us and we were just up a hill from the main scenic road - Route 2. You exit the main house and turn 180 degrees and see nothing but the surrounding hills. There are horses, cows, llamas, sheep and chickens on the property and you are welcome to visit them. Overall we were very satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort, just don't expect luxury. If you are coming here, it is for the surroundings and you won't be disappointed. Nightlife here is non-existent. But the stars put on quite the show!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleyg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2006

This is a very well kept inn with a gorgeous Berkshire Mountains setting. It is not chi-chi, just very well kept and pleasant, with good but not fancy food. We were there for a family reunion to see ancestral houses that were on the Underground Railroad and this was the perfect setting for that sort of activity. Wish we could have stayed longer as there is much history within a short drive of Charlemont. Don't miss the Avery's Store in the village. This is unspoiled territory, so far fairly ungentrified.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Warfield House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warfield House Inn

Address: 200 Warfield Rd, Charlemont, MA 01339-9805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Charlemont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlemont
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A UNIQUE BED AND BREAKFAST, One of New England's best kept secrets! New England family farm tradition on a breathtaking 530 acres overlooking the scenic Mohawk Trail and Deerfield River. Wake up to find yourself on top of the world. Explore and let nature work its wonders on you! Bed and breakfasts come in all shapes and sizes. How do you describe a magnificent bed and breakfast with two guesthouses, and a special events and wedding facility? All of this on a splendid working farm overlooking the Mohawk Trail, Deerfield River in the foothills of the Berkshires in Western Massachusetts? Now our guests can have the experience to enjoy a Llama Picnic Trek!! The Warfield House Inn is located in Charlemont, MA. In a word, you could call it enchanting, sweeping vistas, mountain air, charming rooms and an expansive conference facility provide an inspiring setting for any occasion. Come for a special overnight stay or a holiday weekend. We invite you to come as a couple or as a group, for an adventure or for a celebration. Refresh and recharge at this peaceful bed and breakfast atop Warfield Mountain. From the Warfield House Inn, located in the Berkshire Hills of Western Mass, you can explore the natural beauty of New England's mountaintop forests or its rapid rivers. Spend your days participating in some of the best fly-fishing, rafting and skiing in the Northeast. The local towns are rich in history and full of artisans, architectural wonders and antique shops. You do not have to travel far from our bed and breakfast to find recreation, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Warfield House Hotel Charlemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing