We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, will return soon!”
other travelers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
171 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 171 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brittany...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, will return soon!”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My husband and I stayed two nights after zip lining, we were impressed by the hospitality and coziness of the in-law apartment. There's plenty of space for two people and a furry friend, with a shared living / bedroom, and dining room with a full kitchen. Although we don't have a dog, the owner, Pat is very dog friendly and dogs are welcomed to stay overnight. With that, as a non-owner, there was no smell of dog, no dog hair. The bed and pillows are full/firm and very comfortable. There's a cute breakfast tray to greet you in the morning and I found it to be an easy place to relax and enjoy the time together. It's quiet, but close driving distance to trails/restaurants and attractions. We will absolutely return here, we left refreshed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2018
Brittany and Matt - thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momatha
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This cottage is charming. Patricia has thought of everything. There’s room and appliances to create a large meal. We cook all the time at home so we wanted to eat out. Her recommendations for restaurants was spot on. We spent most of our time in Shellburne Falls, brought the pups back at night so we could go out to dinner. The pups settled right in.
She’s very knowledgeable of the area . My husband and our two Chizzers stayed for two nights. We walked the road that goes up the mountain behind the cottage.
8 am delivery of scones and fresh orange juice which were delicious.

We will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2018
Thanks so much for your kind review. It really was a great pleasure having you stay at the cottage, especially the 4-leggeds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlb377
Southampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect hideaway in a beautiful corner of Massachusetts”
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Patricia's cottage is in a great location for hiking, biking, skiing and exploring in hills along the Mohawk Trail, just a few minutes from lovely Shelburne Falls, and within easy striking distance of the amazing Mass MOCA (North Adams) and Clark Museum (Williamstown).

The cottage is attractively decorated, perfectly quiet, and feels very private, with all the conveniences... decent wireless, coffee, etc., etc. It's perfect for a couple on a getaway, with the added benefit that dogs are 100% welcome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Michael - many thanks for your kind review.

P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen_nujin
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here with our 1.5 y/o rescue. Our rescue, Ollie, is very timid and anxious but he felt very relaxed at the cottage. Our plan was to have a nice getaway for our 5 year anniversary and enjoy the outdoors in the spring. Unfortunately, we both got stricken with a bad cold last minute and ended up holed up in the cottage all weekend. We didn’t feel like it was a waste at all. The cottage is lovely and comfortable. Pat is super sweet and accommodating. Since we couldn’t leave the cottage, we did feel super comfortable resting all weekend so it was great! We’re both interested in returning so we can finally take advantage of the scenic outdoors nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to your return.

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika B
Fairhaven, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful, comfortable apartment near Shelburne Falls & Bridge of Flowers”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful, comfortable apartment with private entrance, in the country/woods but only a few minutes drive to Shelburne Falls village and bridge of flowers . Nice combination bedroom/living room, separate full kitchen, private bath. Bathroom is small but fully functional and the rest of the place was larger than we expected and nicely decorated. Patricia is a lovely host, helpful and available but giving privacy also. Being able to travel with our dog Gracie was wonderful. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful and Quiet! We brought our 50lb lab/pit mix and were made to feel right at home! This is a great spot, far enough away from it all yet close enough to enjoy tubing or kayaking on the river and take a walk at the Bridge of Flowers.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Angela - thanks so much for your kind review. Come see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bbbbbmorr...
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chevy & Company weekend getaway”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A quaint little cottage tucked in the Mohawk Trail. We were welcomed with open arms and so was Chevy our (blue nose pitbull) old man. He enjoyed the smooth crisp bowl of cold water awaiting him when he arrived with his dog biscuit. He enjoyed his special place to go explore in the outside yard. He felt at home in no time. We also were spoiled when we walked into the spacious rooms. The room was a beautiful blue and was decorated with such care, We enjoyed the assortment of coffee's and teas. The full kitchen was appreciated, we had a microwave and coffee maker a full stove and fridge. Each morning we got fresh scones hot with butter and assortment of jams with fresh squeezed OJ. We truly enjoyed our pet friends next door greeting us when we came and went. They were sweet dogs. I would recommend this spot to anyone needing a quite retreat.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. Please come see us again, especially Chevy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing