We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Canine Vacation Gem”
other travelers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
180 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 180 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulmccar...
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Canine Vacation Gem”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Once again, for the third time in the past three years, Alexander,Pete and I drove the most scenic anywhere (RT 2) to our favorite vacation destination,Cavalier Cottage in Charlemont, MA, considered to be our vacation home away from home.
Our ten legs we greeted by Patricia Butterfield, the most engaging and delightful innkeeper anywhere. Patricia's dog friendly cabin nestled in the midst of the Mohawk Trail, which afforded my precocious Scottish terriers a boundless bonanza of trails to explore and small creatures to stalk.
As always our stay was too short, but Patricia's morning orange juice and freshly baked scones, and her delightful personality will continue to allure us time and time again. In fact, we plan to return in early September.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Paul, Pete & Alexander,

You chaps are the very best. Thanks for being such splendid guests!

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY S
1 review
“Wonderful, pet friendly and relaxing”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed a mini vacation at this beautiful cottage retreat with our golden retriever Ivy Grace. Ivy Grace in in a wheelchair and she was able to menover with no problem inside or out. Our hostess was wonderful and served the most delicious scones fresh from her oven in the morning. She was so quiet we forgot she was even on the premises. The cottage is extremely clean and very well maintained. We will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you again - especially Ivy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollietn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely pet friendly B & B”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Its a lovely B & B that was extremely welcoming to me and my 100 pound pup. The cottage is beautifully decorated, clean and offers large living area with plenty of seating and a king size bed. there is a large kitchen. It was very clean and private, situated on a very quiet country road. Patricia was very warm and welcoming. Definitely worth staying.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trip45960...
1 review
“Cavalier Cottage is absolutely the best kept secret in all of Massachusetts!”
Reviewed December 23, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I had a three-day, out-of-this-world-relaxing stay at Cavalier Cottage. Not only were we able to bring our two rescue companions, but the inside of this adorable cabin is the most impeccably decorated I've seen, right down to place mats, linens, and coasters. The cottage in the words was quiet and peaceful, and the owner even supplied freshly-made (and still warm!) scones and freshly-squeezed juice for breakfast. She was also incredibly accommodating when I asked if my college age son and his friend could join us and was gracious with their last minute plans. Everything is there that you will need -- and even the household cleansers (hand soap, dish soap, etc.) are brands that are sustainably made and cruelty-free. Can hardly wait for my schedule to allow another trip!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2016
Happy Holidays Randy and thanks so much for the gracious review. We aim to please our special 2-legged & 4-legged guests!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to relax with the dogs”
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Patricia was wonderful throughout the stay, and served up terrific scones and OJ each morning. A great quiet place to stay that is truly dog friendly. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevielik...
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good if brief stay.”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife, dog and I found the cottage to be a lovely cozy little getaway. P. was a very gracious host. The place was just as described. Our weekend was cut short due to an aggressive dog biting my dog in Shelburne Falls. Unfortunately we were only able to spend one night out of two. At least I got a chance to taste the hot and fresh scones I read so much about Saturday morning before having to head home. I hope to return again for a full weekend and experience all the cottage and surroundings have to offer.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the place and the hospitality of the host.
Liked least: The fact that Acorn TV was not accessible.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. The cottage looks forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anomynous...
CT
2 reviews
“Charming 2 room 1 bath cottage near the magnificent Mohawk Trail in Massachusetts”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Cavalier Cottege is a charming cottage nestled in the woods about 1 mile off the Mohawk Trail (Route 2) about 5 minutes from Shelbourne Falls and the Bridge of Flowers. This was the perfect spot to stay on a foliage trip through Northern Mass and Southern VT for our Anniversary. The cottage is close to some nice attractions, the Pioneer Valley,, and the Mt. Snow areas but is far enough away from the main highway so the surrounding area offers much pleasant peace and quiet in the evening. The owner has five wonderful Cavalier King Charles Spaniel dogs who greeted us when we first arrived. My wife and I have two cavies ourselves (Reuben and Honey Rachael) and we got to meet one of the dogs. Though not truly a B and B, Pat the owner makes scones for the guests each AM with some OJ. There is a kitchen stocked with utensils/dishes and the bedroom/sitting room is charming with plenty of tourist info and Dish TV (included). I rate this place 4 stars out of 5 With the only blemish being a rather small bathroom and complete loss of cell service away from Route 2. Overall a very good stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location, condition, amenities
Liked least: Bathroom size, loss of cell service.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing