We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timers.....”

Crab Apple Whitewater
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Charlemont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Pawtucket
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Timers.....”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first experience to Crab Apple Deerfield. I really didn't know what to expect and was a bit nervous at the start. Our Guide was Matt... Matt really knows what he is doing and we would love to come back next season and have him as our guide. Totally trust him as he let me "Ride the Bull"!!!! Thank you MATT for letting me "RIDE THE BULL". We were on the last release of the season and the water was perfect. The rapids were so much fun and weather couldn't have been more perfect. Everyone at Crab Apple was so helpful and friendly. I'd recommend Crab Apple to everyone i know. See you next season!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Manager at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Glad you made it for the last dam release of the season on the Monroe Bridge Section of the Deerfield! Thanks for taking the time to compliment Matt and his river skills. He has been a guide for nearly a decade for Crab Apple and represents our family well!

See you next year to "Ride the bull" again and remember to ask for Matt to guide your crew for the second time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    24
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“as always, an awesome time!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have taken trips with Crabapple on a number of occasions. It is always a wonderful time! This past trip, Roger was our guide and he was fantastic! Thanks to his skill, we hit the rapids in as intense a way as possible and made most use of the river.....as always, a blast!!! And the bar-b-q is always very tasty and accommodating to vegetarians....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for returning to Crab Apple for several trips. By now you know that we have some awesome river guides and this season you met Roger, another outstanding member of our crew. Roger plans to make a career of leading adventure trips in the outdoors, so we are thrilled to have him. Thanks also for noting that we take care in the preparation of our cookout and have many options for our guests. That's what we do - make it fun for all, every day!

Thanks again and see you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great trip - awesome guide”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a great time doing the class II and III rapids. Would definitely go back for the more intense class IV trip. Our guide, Mae, was great and really made sure everyone had a good time. She also really seemed to enjoy her job (no wonder!) and knew was she was doing. Great experience all round.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Brian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Manager at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
So glad you got to have a day on the river with your guide, Mae. Indeed, she does love her job and the people like you that make it fun. Wish we all had summer jobs that were so great in college - a day on the river, sunshine and great company. Please come again as you mentioned on the harder rapids, you will love the excitement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hardwick, Vermont
1 review
“What a blast! Great staff, well run operation.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

White water rafting on the Deerfield River is great with Crab Apple because everything is attended to, you are treated like valued guests, all staff is highly skilled, respectful and hospitable. Great fun
Our guide Money/John was fantastic we loved him and hope to have him as our guide when we return Labor Day 2014. Take care Eddie !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Manager at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for a great review for our family business. You were lucky to run the rapids with a great guide. Exciting to know that you loved our staff and are already planning Labor Day weekend 2014. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Vermont
2 reviews
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was the first time I had been rafting and we sure picked the right place to go! From the moment you drive into the parking lot until you drive out - the staff are there for you. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. The rafting ride was incredible - our guide, John (Money), was so much fun! Money gave us the best ride ever - hitting the spots where we "surfed" - turning us into the rapids at just the right time. He was friendly, fun, entertaining - and above all safe. The BBQ afterwards was delicious! The atmosphere of the whole operation is friendly. I can't wait to go back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank agapebjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow, nice review thanks for taking the time to tell others about how our family business is doing. Glad you got to spend the day with "Money" who has been guiding at Crab Apple since 2002. He does a great job and blends in with our friendly staff. Glad that you felt safe and got an exhilarating ride s well. See you next trip - ask for the same guide if you like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Apple Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Crab Apple Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing