We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fun, easy whitewater rafting, excellent family activity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab Apple Whitewater

Crab Apple Whitewater
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Charlemont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, easy whitewater rafting, excellent family activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my first whitewater rafting trip and it was lots of fun. I'm really glad that I went with Crab Apple Whitewater. Our guide was very nice, friendly, and was clearly an expert. Even though he probably did this trip a thousand times before, he had the enthusiasm as if it were his first. He intentionally had us steer the raft towards and around various protruding rocks to add to the excitement and enjoyment of the trip. He emphasized safety both before and during the trip. At one point two people fell out of another raft (ironically in calm water during a fun water "fight" between the rafts) and he instantly jumped to action and plucked them both out of the water into our raft. Our family had a great time. After the trip Crab Apple provided a good quality simple lunch with cold cuts, tuna salad, pasta salad, chips, brownies and beverages. During lunch they showed a fun slide show of our trip. I highly recommend this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flintstone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks for joining our family business and taking the time to let folks know about Crab Apple.
Glad you enjoyed your guide and the effort put into making the trip extra fun and safe. As you mention, it is a trick to keep staff focused for every trip and we try to deliver a great trip every time! With family members on most every trip, we make sure that we treat our 1000th trip like our first, because it is likely the first trip for you family.

Thanks again and we'll make your second trip just as memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    24
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to Whitewater Rafting - Great Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were so pleased with this outing, with a very timid daughter and an older daughter roaring to go, this was the perfect trip for Whitewater Rafting. We found the staff very fun, conversational with everyone, and focused on the safety first, but having a great time out on the river. Our guide Mae, was perfect with my teenage daughters and our raft mates (Mother son, age 10) - she provide good guidance and directions and help to keep all of us in line, even prodding my husband who seemed to be the first to "rest" in paddling. It was fun to do the variations in the rapids, going forward, backwards and in circles to jostling boulders and even wheelies. Our hope is to come back for the higher level rafting when both girls are 15 and even sites on the big stuff in Maine. Great day, lunch (snack was forgotten though) - but the slide presentation was a blast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cadamslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Manager at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Glad you had such a good experience with your family. We offer so many varied trips that you can find the right match for younger and older kids that are looking for different levels of challenge. You were lucky to spend the day with Mae, a great kid and great guide.

Hope you make it Maine for some bigger rapids next summer. The Kennebec River trip has a minimum age of 10.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent family rafting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took our 4 kids ( 7-12 yrs) rafting last week. We had played down the white water bit for our older boys so they wouldn't expect raging rapids but in the end they and our younger two girls all had a great time with enough Class 2 ( limit for our 7 yr old) white water to keep them entertained but never frightened. The owner (Jenn) and our guide ( Connor) had a great atitude and were really good fun. We also had some fun with water guns with other families and basically had a great time. There were photos taken and available to buy but no big 'sell'. highly recommend them - we will be back next year for the class 3 run...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honestguv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks for joining us this summer for family rafting on the Deerfield River. Nice to see that your guide was a good match for the kids and adults and made the trip fun for all ages.

We look forward to hosting you next season on the Class 3 Deerfield trip. the kids will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
“Fun and family friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I took the Youth Group from our church. The kids had a blast, and were asking to go back next summer, and we weren't even done with this trip yet! Myself and the other chaperone on the trip enjoyed how personable and friendly everyone was. It is a family run business and that shows in how they go out of their way to make everyone comfortable, and see that everyone is having a good time. Would definitely recommend .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Manager at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful feedback from you and your church youth group. We hear similar comments every day - before the trip is over kids are asking if they can come back to raft again with Crab Apple. That is very satisfying for our family to hear!

See you next summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was my first time rafting- we saw great wildlife and even swam in the rapids.. it was a blast! All of the staff members were extremely helpful and very friendly. Mae was an awesome guide :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristinef012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Manager at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for letting Mae and our family know that she is doing a great job. Sounds like you got lucky to see some wildlife on the trip. On our Massachusetts trips we often see Eagles, osprey and many other big birds. We also see beaver, otter, deer and the occasional black bear. Glad they came out to see you on the river!

Awesome! see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Apple Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Crab Apple Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing