We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like I am missing out on the history of this place”

Hail to the Sunrise / Mohawk Park
Ranked #8 of 15 things to do in Charlemont
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small park, perfect for a picnic, is home to the "Hail to the Sunrise" statue, a tribute to the Native Americans who greeted the first settlers to the area.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Feel like I am missing out on the history of this place”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A nice place to stop and think about Native American culture in Western MA. In addition to the beautiful statue and setting there are dozens (hundreds?) of plaques commemorating something (visits?) from other tribes around the country. I wish there was better signage to explain more about what we are seeing. Nonetheless, it is a family tradition to visit this spot on the way out to the Berkshires.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enfield NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I thought this place was way overpriced and didn't clean like it should have. This seems to be a place where the locals go and if you are not local you may not be welcome.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Really cool to relive childhood memories.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This park is a beautiful area with history. It was not crowded when we went and we were able to enjoy the quiet and surrounding countryside.
After driving up the Mohawk Trail, this park gives one a deeper perception of the history behind this area.
We enjoyed seeing it as I have fond memories as a child going to this park.
I recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripnexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Many memories”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came here every year as a child and even into my teens with my grandparents and parents and we took a picture in front of the statue. My husband and I camped at the State Forest recently after not being here for years (I'm 65 now) and all the memories came flooding back! A wonderful little park with an important reminder of who blazed these trails we love to hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank yogiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful statue, saw it in a book about the back roads of Massachusetts. Thought it would be up on a hill overlooking a valley. Instead it is on the side on a road overlooking a run down trailer park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hail to the Sunrise / Mohawk Park also viewed

 

Been to Hail to the Sunrise / Mohawk Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing