We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We just spent a wonderful 2 nights at the Capt. David Kelly House - B & B in Centerville, MA. Can't remember when we so enjoyed staying at a B & B. The B & B is under new management - and the two hosts - Rick and Tom made us feel so welcome.

The room was beautiful and immaculate - with all the trimmings including Terry Cloth Robes, A/C (which we did need) and TV. The common rooms - especially the porch and the back deck were very comfortable and invitiing. At five o'clock cheese and crackers were served! We met wonderful people also staying at the B & B - sitting for an hour or so to share drinks and swap stories about our day.

Breakfast was delicious, creative and served with elegance. There was a warmth and friendliness about the guests and our hosts - that one doesn't always find.

We will definitely go back for another visit and would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a relaxing and beautiful spot to stay on the Cape.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 572 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2009

This was our third summer at the CDK - a multi-generational family gathering for a long weekend. My husband and I have personally stayed in the Captain Kelley and Rachel rooms - both lovely (as all rooms are). The new Innkeepers Tom & Rick have made structural improvements to the Inn as well as upgrading the services and breakfasts considerably. The friendly "scone competition" between Tom & Rick serves their guests well - hard to choose between Orange Cranberry Walnut and Currant Buttermilk - both delicious! Especailly nice are the screened porches for breakfast or relaxing with an afternoon book. The town of Centerville is lovely - convenient to many excellent restaurants and shopping; an easy walk to or from Craigville Beach; and much too close to Four Seas Ice Cream for anyone's diet! Check out the book sale at the town Library held 3-4 times a week - $1 for hardcover/50 cents for paperbacks. You cannot beat this lovely Inn or it's hospitable Innkeepers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We spent 2 nights in Centerville at Tom and Rick's fantastic, spotless B&B. The guys have it fixed up with great antiques and lots of decorator touches. They are very welcoming and perfect innkeepers. IThe place is a true labor of love. The breakfasts served on the screened porch are delicious, homemade and hearty. The beds are very very comfy. Each room is different with high thread count sheets. Around the corner are the best Lobster Rolls in town at Four Seas. If you are in the area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia15330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at the Captain David Kelly House and our visit was 100% superb! Tom and Ric are wonderful hosts that are professional, kind, helpful and simply fun to be around. The food is delicious, the rooms are beautifully designed down to the fresh flowers in our room each day. These guys are pro's at running their B & B. Trust me....you will not be disappointed when you stay at the CDK House! We cannot wait to return. Jill & Bill, Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBGirlCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was our first B & B experience, and we were more than impressed. We definitely want to come back with more family some time. Rick and Tom were excellent hosts: friendly, but not overbearing, very accomodating, great attention to detail, and relaxing to be around. My wife said that "They were made for this kind of work," and I agree. We told them that we were celebrating our first anniversary, and we were greeted with a bottle of champagne in our bedroom with a nice note, and a nice cd already in the cd player by the bedside. Fresh flowers by the bed, two deluxe chocolates each night, modernized bathroom (a little small, but everything you need including an amazing shower head, hair dryer, and even an iron in the room), flat screen tv., cd player/clock radio/alarm, etc. You could tell these guys thought of everything, and I mean everything. Every room is very, very tastefully decorated, complete with historic paintings, crown moldings and panelling, etc. Another example of how they pay attention to detail and to their guests: Rick heard that we were interested in biking some of the trails on the Cape, and the next day he gave us information on biking trails and even shared some of his own experiences. Oh yeah, and how can I forget the incredible coffee maker? Fresh deluxe coffees and teas of all kinds available whenever you want -- I'm a big coffee "buff" and this was reallly good. They even let us keep our bikes on one of their screened-in porches (we brought our own to save money on renting bikes). And the food was outstanding. Different stuff each day, and it was all excellent and very fresh. Rick serves you like he's a waiter at a restaurant; it's a great experience. I can't say enough about this place. I was blown away. The only down side we could think of was that the bed mattresses were overly firm -- I actually like that, but some may not. I'd definitely recommend staying here -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstephen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I have never been inspired to write an on-line review, but my wonderful visit to the Captain David Kelley House had to be shared. My husband and I cannot imagine a more beautiful setting or more gracious hosts. Tom and Rick were absolutely charming and made our visit very special. I happened to mention that it was our anniversary when I made the reservation months before and they greeted us with a warm anniversary welcome. The inn is immaculate and cozy, with attention to every detail- including a welcome basket, fresh flowers in the room, and evening appetizers. The room was so comfortable and quiet that we slept through breakfast the first morning and were very sorry that happened when we tasted the incredible breakfast on the second morning. The best quiche and scones we've ever had! We can't wait to get back for another visit!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Captain David Kelley house in July 2009. We wanted a relaxing weekend on the Cape and we definitely had that experience here. The new owners, Rick and Tom, are so hospitable and accomodating. This B&B offered so many small, thoughtful touches such as delish cheese and crackers and chocolates before bed. All of our needs were met and then some but we never felt like we were intruding as we have in some B&Bs.

If you are looking for someplace to stay on the Cape, I highly recommend the David Kelley House!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fryguy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
369 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
#1 of 1 in South Orleans
353 reviews
13.7 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigville Beach Inn
Craigville Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Centerville
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range: $176 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, free WI-FI, hair dryers. Each room is uniquely decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minute ride away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing