We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This B&B was an absolute delight. Being short on cash but wanting to give my wife a beautiful Valentine's day - I was immediately directed to the Captain David Kelley House. Tom and Rick would not have been more welcoming to us. Anything we asked - they did their best to suit our needs. The room was wonderful and the breakfast - to die for.
Sincerely,
Erica and Julie Bertocchi

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reverica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 582 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

My wife and I drove down to the Cape in a snow storm, not sure what to expect, and we were delighted by the beauty of the town of Centerville even at night. Our hosts were expecting us and had shoveled a clear pathway for our car and us to make our way to the house.

The first thing that struck me as I walked into the house was the warm, inviting feeling the main common room gave off. Our hosts helped us to find our room and then joined us in the common room in front of the fireplace. We were soon joined by our friends, who also made the drive down, and we talked the night away.

Our room was clean, comfortable, and inviting. Our hosts made sure to let us know that they could adjust our room temperature to anything we wanted. The bed was extremely comfortable and our private bath was clean and well appointed. We both settled in for a very restful night's sleep.

The next day we awoke to the great smell of coffee. We made our way down to breakfast and were treated to home made scones, fresh fruit, and various other breakfast treats. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast with our friends while our hosts made sure we had coffee, juice, and food.

All in all we had a wonderful time and it is my opinion that anyone would be lucky to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank investlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We have just returned from two cold and blustery days in Centerville, Mass. on Cape Cod. What a beautiful place it is in winter especially if you stay at the Captain David Kelley House. Old world and romantic, the rooms are comfortable and cozy. New innkeepers, Tom and Rick are genial hosts whose only aim is to please you. They are fun and great company, and they want you to enjoy your stay. They are naturals at what they do. They think of everything. I particularly liked the crystal bowl of fresh tulips in our room- lovely with the snow outside our window.

Whatever you do, take them up on anything they offer in the cuilinary area. The fresh berries (in January no less) were such a welcome treat. Full breakfast with the best cranberry scones you will ever eat. They should be packaged and sold. They are that good. Divine quiche and homemade bread.

The location is perfect as well. Right beside an old country store and around the corner from the most famous home-made ice cream store on the cape. With the beautiful Craigsville Beach right down the street , it is a great place for a summer stay.

You cannot miss with this one. Tom and Rick have made this historic country inn a home away from home. My husband and I felt like we were visiting my younger brothers. Thank you for a very special weekend.

Meg and JIm Smith
Boston, Ma

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Meg02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fpage2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacobo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jedes Zimmer ist anders. Man kann ganz nach Geschmack auf der Webseite sich nach eigenen Präferenzen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraanne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Комната Rachel стоит дешевле и прекрасно подходит для двух человек.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,281,018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
370 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
433 reviews
15.6 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
19.2 mi away
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
#1 of 1 in South Orleans
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range: $176 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, free WI-FI, hair dryers. Each room is uniquely decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minute ride away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing