We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best inns I have satyed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain David Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one of the best inns I have satyed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

breakfast was great, room was comfortable and quiet. But only stay there if you like friendly, attentive, funny, and nice hosts. They made the stay. From sharing some down time over wine to the scone "competition" in the morning they made the two days fun, which I cannot always say of other good inns I have stayed in

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctjddealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
310
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We had so much fun at the Capt. David Kelley House. It is a beautifully furnished antique home with two of the most kind hosts/owners you could ever meet! The service was impeccable and the breakfast delicious. We highly recommend this location as well. It is a walk to the beach, and situated smack in the middle of quaint Centerville village which is only a short drive to Hyannis. Highly recommended over all!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband Kevin and I stayed at Rick and Tom's AMAZING inn for my husband's birthday. It was our first time staying at a B&B and our first time traveling around Cape Cod, and I have to say that the experience blew our minds. Rick and Tom were gracious hosts and the home was warm, inviting, and full of that English Cape Cod charm that we were searching for! Rick and Tom were extremely accommodating, making sure that we loved our room and that we had everything we needed or desired. The rooms are sumptuous, the furniture both comfortable and elegant, harkening back to another time. They even have the most lovely little tea and coffee area, right by the stairs, offering the best tea I've ever had! I literally made tea every day, just so I could sit in their sitting room to read and relax.

And if you are a foodie who LOVES scones, look no further. Rick and Tom delighted me and my husband with their "scone wars" during breakfast. Every day, they each made their own recipes, and we got to enjoy the BEST scones we've ever had. Not to mention their Belgian waffles, country sausage, and fruit and yogurt parfaits.

Rick and Tom were even MORE amazing in that they helped us plan our day trips. We saw all the sights that Cape Cod had to offer by using the routes that they suggested (from amazing lookout points, beaches, delicious seafood restaurants, martini bars, to even hole-in-the-wall coffee shops!) They certainly know the best places in Cape Cod and will ensure that you experience it all!

Captain David Kelley House has all the charm, ambiance, and pure relaxation that you could ever hope for. I know that me and my husband will be coming back as soon as we can! This is a MUST stay place if you are going to be in the Cape Cod area.

Room Tip: Stay in the Captain Kelley room, best room in the house! Comfortable bed, bright and sunny room, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was an annual get-together trip with a dear friend Where to begin the accolades? The lovely rooms, the warm greeting and ambiance, the delightful royal presentation of the breakfast scones, the great concierge reservation service, the Zumbathon? I am sure I am forgetting more of the details of the wonderful weekend spent at the CDK, but you get the idea. Rick and Tom are the greatest and made me feel right at home. I would highly recommend visiting for a relaxing and pampered get- away and as a "base camp" for exploring the cape.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Rick and Tom are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are outstanding, the decor is tasteful and the atmosphere at the Captain David Kelley House is warm and welcoming. It is within walking distance from Craigville Beach and Four Seas Ice Cream, and the village of Centerville is a great place. It's our favorite B and B by far!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWasilewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

A wonderfully delightful weekend at the Kelley House. The Downton weekend was fabulous…the dinner exceptional, the service perfect, the accomodations fit for a lord and lady, hosts entertaining….Everything about staying here makes a person feel comfortable and at the same time gives one the feeling of being treated like royalty!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I drove to the Cape from Charleston, SC in mid-March after having to cancel an earlier trip due to weather. We were not disappointed. Rick and Tom were better than family in providing us a wonderful haven to enjoy our winter getaway. Our room was perfectly appointed and everything we needed was right at hand. The breakfasts were incredibly good and healthy including the scones that were expertly prepared by both our hosts as part of their friendly rivalry to be declared the King of Scones! We highly recommend visiting the Cape at any season to enjoy this special oasis and the charm of two terrific hosts. Jan

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patience room named for the Captain's wife. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
20.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing