We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

No need to look further for a B&B on Cape Cod. Elegant yet incredibly inviting and comfortable. The most charming hosts. A scrumptious breakfast. I only wish I could have stayed longer. As my stay was business related and only for one night, I am so looking forward to returning with my husband for a "pleasure" stay (and sampling the offerings from the opposing side of the "scone wars"...).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
316
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a charming place and a wonderful winter getaway. We went for New Years and we were so happy that we found this lovely, quaint bed and breakfast. The room was clean and fresh and also comfortable. Rick & Tom clearly take pride in their home. They were wonderful hosts as they served delicious breakfasts in the mornings and left us chocolates at night. There were 2 other couples who were interesting company to eat with at breakfast and we were all well fed but also entertained by Rick and Tom's scone wars and their chef get ups!
I'm so glad we found Captain David Kelley House. It was in a great location. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Captain David Kelley House is a beautiful, warm, homey destination. We were there late Nov. Rick and Tom are the ultimate hosts. They made us feel welcome without intruding. We stayed in the Patience Room, it's newly renovated & gorgeous, with all the amenities - flat screen tv, comfy, cozy chairs and bed linens and of course chocolates every night! Coffee and tea are always available in the foyer. Breakfast is a lot of fun with the famous SCONE WARS. Delightful! Definitely would go back and encourage you to try it. We hope to go back when the weather is warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne52252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The scones, the location, the hospitality, the accommodations...I am not sure where to start. Tom and Rick have done everything right! They are charming hosts with so many repeat visitors. There were 3 other sets of guests at the inn with us, each had visited multiple times. With so many B&Bs on the Cape, the fact that people come far and wide to stay with Tom and Rick again and again should convince you that you are missing out on something great! My friends and I are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wonderful girlfriend took me to this charming bed & breakfast on the Cape in early December for a one night stay and I loved it. The owners, Rick and Tom, were very personable and extremely gracious. They seemed very proud of their establishment and they had every reason to feel that way. The building is on the National Registry of Historic Places. It was a charming 19th Century building with an immaculate attention to detail.The first floor common area was delightfully decorated for the holidays. We stayed in the Rachel Room on the second floor in the quiet back corner of the building. The room was a delight. It was cozy and tastefully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was an event. The dining area was festive and comfortable as we sat at the large table with the other guests. The food was delicious and the playful banter between Tom and Rick over whose scones were superior was delightfully amusing. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Captain David Kelley House. It receives my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your very expressive review. It truly put a smile on our faces. It was great meeting you both, and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Rachel Room. We hope to see you both again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend & I stayed at the Captain Kelley House this fall for several days and we were impressed with the way the owners went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had arrived late from a flight from AZ which had landed in RI and the extra attention helped us settle in and settle down after the very long drive. We were entertained daily at breakfast on their lovely porch with their clever antics and costumes and the on going Scone Competition. The decor and the housekeeping were top notch. How could we ever think of staying at an "ordinary" motel/hotel ever again and miss all this luxury???? I used to go to Cape Cod with my family as a little girl and was tickled that the Country Store was still in existence next door to The Captain Kelley House.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully decorated. They put me in a room off of the street because I am a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us! It was a pleasure meeting you, and we love knowing that you had such an enjoyable stay. We try hard to give guests a unique experience and we truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return visit, and the Scone Ranger will be waiting to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

If there was more room for additional stars, The Captain David Kelley House would most certainly have earned them! Owners Tom Nortz & Rick Garceau are the perfect hosts.From the chocolates on your nightstand to the most scrumptious breakfast no detail was forgotten. The Inn is your home away from home. You can walk to the beach, have a drink on the 3 season porch or read a book by the fire = relaxation. Cannot wait to go back. Thank you for a wonderful time Rick & Tom

Room Tip: The rooms were decorated beautifully :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanKulesza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We try to create a warm, welcoming environment for our guests to relax in, and we're happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
3.4 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing