We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute Luck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain David Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
“Last minute Luck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

At the beginning June last year I was fortunate to get a referral from another local innkeeper who recommended the CDK House. My significant other was riding for Best Buddies and we were celebrating his birthday the day after and everything is typically booked up that weekend. Rick and Tom jumped through hoops and made it happen for us. Not only is the CDK House beautifully restored and furnished, it is super clean and the location makes it perfect for bicyclists and exploring the Cape. The innkeepers are terrific and it is worth every penny. Oh, did I mention the scones? Check it out on the website. Going to book now for 2013!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We're happy we were able to accommodate you for the Best Buddies event, and that you are planning a return visit this year. We couldn't ask for a higher compliment! We look forward to your return. Thank you for taking the time to post your great review of us and The CDK House. See you soon. The scones will be ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
310
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hosts are welcoming, friendly, hospitable, prepare the best scones (all of them, yes!), give great recommendations on what to see and do in the area. The inn is charming, spotless, centrally located. We will definitely stay here again when we come to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brookfield, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were welcoming, helpful and hospitable. Out hosts recommended the best local restaurants and in nearby Hyannis, we found the best Pianist and base duo at the Black Cat Restaurant & Tavern who are there every Friday eve. We went for a long walk on nearby Craigville beach after enjoying a full breakfast at the Captain David Kelly House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenP382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We are a French family with 2 girls and we loved spending a few days with Tom and Rick.Everything was just perfect ,from the lovely house to the breakfast with the funy scones war ( don t worry it ends just marvelous).We are planning to come again !It was almost as if we had found some new friends in this lovely area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 380Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family has a house in Osterville and I've stayed at this B&B several times since Rick and Tom purchased and restored this sea captain's house to a proud example of Cape Cod history and hospitality. The locale is perfect either for staying put in the area or as a way-station to or from other parts of the Cape. The furnishings are very comfortable, well arranged and to me reflect an unstuffy luxury. The bath rooms are spotless and well-appointed. The breakfast is a welcome intro to the day and with Rick and Tom serving it adds a touch of personal attentiveness and pride which makes this a very special home away from home.

Room Tip: Check very helpful photos on their website to find the style of room that suits you and your pocketb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tom and Rick run a first-class bed and breakfast on the Cape. They are welcomming and the most gracious hosts. They went out of their way throughout our stay from the moment we stepped in the front door, assisting us with a late night arrival and planning dinner reservations for that evening. They also serve a remarkable breakfast. The home is gorgeous, well decorated and not to mention very clean. Our room was large and our king sized bed was very comfortable. I really do not have a complaint. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to just about anyone. There's a cozy living room and several porches to enjoy a rainy afternoon or cool evening. And the beach is just a short walk away on those warmer days. Although I have stayed at quite a few bed and breakfasts, none match the Captain David Kelley House. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My Mother and brother who live in Centerville were stranded during the recent storm Nemo with no heat or power. Tom and Rick were more than gracious in opening up their Inn to them, They have a lovely 2 room suite and treat everyone like royalty. My Mother was amazed by their kindness and TLC!! Thank you all for your warmth and caring!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
20.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing