We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, historical house, in the middle of...”
Entering the driveway you catch a breathtaking view of this constructed home built around a windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the driveway you catch a breathtaking view of this constructed home built around a windmill
Open, airy, fully stocked kitchen provides a warm welcome as you enter the house to the left. Four comfortable stools chairs and plenty of space invite your group to the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Entering the driveway you catch a breathtaking view of this constructed home built around a windmill
Open, airy, fully stocked kitchen provides a warm welcome as you enter the house to the left.
Four comfortable stools chairs and plenty of space invite your group to the kitchen
One of three gathering places on the first floor with song ceilings and bright sunny spaces.
An inviting dining table with seating for 12 next to a beautiful stone hearth
A view from the previous seating area to the dining area.
To the left of the first seating area is a flat screen TV, gas fireplace and three sofas
Looking back across the L shaped sofa in front of the TV area
The master bedroom suite which is on the first floor of the windmill has a king sized bed
A luxurious bathroom with cast iron soaking tub, double sink and walk in glass shower
A second master bedroom with a separate entrance, with its own seating area, TV and bathroom.
This expansive bedroom has room for a small family including space for the provided crib
Stairs to the second floor showing the brightness throughout the home
Third bedroom with nautical theme
Four twin beds with a second nautical theme round out the second floor.
At the entrance on the second floor to the Windmill is an office with printer
8 majestic windows provide views of the cape and the ocean from the top of the tower
The towering roof of the windmill can inspire you to create.
Over 1000 feet of wraparound mahogany deck overlooks the lilly pond
Hydrangeas dot the house in the front and rear. See the outdoor shower and pool.
An expansive lawn leads down to the lily pond has a rope swing and a corn hole set for group play
Lilly pond that was designed by Frederick Law Olmstead provides a peaceful view
A slate walkway back to the front of the house
A three minute walk brings you to the Cape Famous Four Seas Ice Cream
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Centerville, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc G
Brewster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming, historical house, in the middle of Centerville, Cape Cod”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An impressive beach house with its own wind mill tower, close to all local attractions. Sleeps 3 couples (6) and 6 children, for 12 total. Beautiful grounds although the flower beds were overrun with weeds. Beautiful, clean pool. Big Kitchen, lots of seating and beautiful neighborhood church bells giving it a nostalgic feel to it. Walk to ice cream, walk to country store and walk to beach (15 min).

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful family holiday and can't say enough about Cape Cod. The house was perfect for family & friends, offering a high quality, stylish base in the heart of New England.
A highlight of our day was having a drink at the top of the windmill overlooking Nantucket Sound.
We thoroughly enjoyed the nearby beaches, surfing and even an all-American baseball game. We will most certainly be going back

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B
Croton on Hudson, New York
2 reviews
“The Best Cape Cod House Rental Yet”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

In August 2015 my wife, 2 daughters and husbands, and 3 grandchildren (12,11 and <1yr) spent one week at the property. The house offers a very nice swimming pool and central air conditioning, a combination which is not easy to find on the Cape. The house has several decks, which allows privacy when desired. The weather was great and the property insect free, so we were able to eat outside on the large table on one of the decks. The rooms are very nice, spacious, beds very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with just about anything you need. Behind the house is a pond (very picturesque) and a large grassy area which we were able to use to play ball on, including a spirited wiffle ball baseball game. The house is walking distance to Four Seas, a great place to have ice cream after dinner. Craigville Beach is right down the road (2 minute drive). In the interest of full disclosure, two of the bedrooms were not as cool as the rest of the house. The owner has said that he would have someone look into this.
Bottom line. As soon as we got home, we re-booked for next summer. Recommend this house highly, but don't book my week.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonnehall...
East Amherst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a great family rental”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Recently we celebrated a special anniversary with our 2 married children, their spouses and 4 teenagers...10 of us! The house was absolutely perfect for our group. There were separate sleeping areas for all and various areas to be alone or together. We enjoyed relaxing and reading and playing games on the numerous sofas inside. The large deck overlooking the picturesque property provided a delightful space for morning coffee as well as for afternoon and evening cocktails and conversation. The pool was perfect being right near the back deck so it was used by all. The WiFi was appreciated by all but especially the teenagers.
The house location was convenient for the beach, deep sea fishing, bike riding, brewery tour and whale watching. We also enjoyed the the small General
Store (gift shop) , the Museum and the Ice Cream store...all a block down the road.
I recommend this place in the heart of a tiny Cape Cod village a mile from the beach for a relaxing vacation.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spaciousness and casualness of the well-decorated house
Liked least: the smell of deodorizers throughout the kichen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really great house for gathering families together.”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations enjoyed a wonderful week in this spacious and stylish property. Eight adults and four children (under 4) were all well catered for. The gardens are beautiful with wonderful views from the wrap round deck. We made good use of the excellent grill, especially after a very successful ocean fishing trip, and the kitchen is very well equipped to allow catering for a large number of people who love cooking and eating!
The location is great. You can walk to the beach although ferrying car loads and then using the free car park pass was very helpful when little legs were tired. Four Seas Ice Cream is just as good as everyone says. Unmissable.
The pool is extremely good with excellent safety features but some more comfy seating round the pool would have been welcomed. There is also a very good recreation area just across the road which helped keep the children entertained.
We would certainly love to return.

Date of stay: June 2014
Overall condition of the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect Cape Cod vacation experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fernbrook Windmill is a beautiful house built around a picturesque old windmill. The house is beautifully decorated with a lot of style, character and attention to detail. It is large, bright and welcoming. We have been several times and the pool is a wonderful new addition. The area is lovely - a quiet and picturesque village, with the adorable 1856 Country Store and famous Four Seas Ice Cream only a few minutes walk away. The quiet beaches are around 10-15 minutes walk away, making it easy to catch crabs for dinner, followed by a delicious Peppermint Stick ice cream (our favorite) from Four Seas.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, warm, welcoming house - really felt like our private home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin1975
New York
2 reviews
“Perfect House for our first Cape Cod vacation!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We rented Fernbrook Windmill for part of our vacation with another family comprising 4 adults and 4 children aged 8-10.  We had a great time.  The house is beautiful and set in stunning grounds and the tower at the top of house was an added bonus.  Great once the kids are in bed for the adults to go there, put music on and have a few drinks!  Although parts of the house and some outside areas are a little worn and tired (decking, pool area, landscaping and woodwork) it does not take away from the fact that this is an amazing vacation home.   The owners really have tried to think of everything.  The kitchen is well stocked with great appliances, the outside grill was great and there are plenty of towels to use too.  The pool area is a plus with children and our kids were in it a lot! The alarm system around the pool was a bit annoying as if your all sat around the pool, the alarm is going off but appreciate it was put in for the safety of younger children (again, thinking of everything!).    It would also have been nice to have some more permanent pool area seating though and for a house that can sleep 12, there is only 2 comfy sunbed/recliners but we made do with the small beach chairs that were there for beach use.  Upon arrival, we experienced a couple of tiny issues at the house but these were dealt with promptly.   The area itself is very quiet and quaint but the beach is lovely and the ice cream shop is a "must do"!   As we had cars between us, we took time to explore Cape Cod and drove to different ports and towns which was great.  We went on a sea fishing trips, different beach days and ate in some lovely restaurants.

We would definitely recommend Fernbrook Windmill and we were sad to say good bye and hopefully will take a trip back at some point.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing