We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disapoiting ...”

Edaville Family Theme Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Carver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edaville Family Theme Park has three worlds in one! Thomas Land, CranCentral, and Dino Land (Seasonal). Also known for hosting the amazing and historical Christmas Festival of Lights (Seasonal).Jon Delli Priscoli purchased Edaville and it's 250 acres in 2002. There have been many exciting changes under his ownership including, the reconfiguration of the entire rail course and the opening of the only Thomas Land in the United States. Additionally, Edaville Family Theme Park opened Dino Land a prehistoric learning adventure filled with life sized animatronic dinosaurs! Throughout the year you can find your favorite characters visiting the park for meet and greets! As October arrives Edaville Family Theme Park stays open late during not its so spooky Halloween celebration focusing on creating a fun and safe trick or treating environment for all children to enjoy . And of course during the holiday season Edaville opens for its world renowned Christmas Festival of Lights that has now grown to display over 7 million lights! Admission at Edaville includes access to all three parks, free parking and a lifetime for family memories.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Up from Florida, went with family. Train ride was short. Went on a carousel ride, nothing else to do. Very disappointing. Don't waste your money. Sounds like it used to be better with stream trains and longer rides.

1  Thank Cladaghrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdavilleUSA, Manager at Edaville Family Theme Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thanks for visiting us. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. The train ride was reduced to 20 minutes in 2006, most customers enjoy that and find it more comfortable than a 40 minute ride. We hope to make the 20 minute trip more interesting an educational as we expand our park. Other than the carousel, we have 11 other amusements and also plan on adding water rides for the summer and a roller coaster in the next 3 years. We would also like to note we have an active steam engine that has run all winter long, Sunday through Wednesday and have a new one being built for next year. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future and hope your visit will be more enjoyable with the park expansion/enhancement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Edaville Family Theme Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 416 of 457 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's true that the lights are VERY pretty, and yes they do have rides for the kids but unless theres a heat wave in December its too cold for the kids to enjoy it. We went last night and waited in traffic for 20 minutes just to park. We got there and it was busy and freezing. We waited in line for one ride only because it was so cold and when we got in the ride, the wind made it worse! So we decided to go on the train. The wait wasnt bad, but te ride was short and disappointing (but at leasat it was worm) So we spent the rest ofour tme there in the "play area" which is inside and has train tables and a ball pit. So we paid a little under $80 to play inside an iffy play area for an hour

1  Thank mbookach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdavilleUSA, Manager at Edaville Family Theme Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thanks for visiting us. Sorry that you felt your trip was not worth it. We often post coupons on our website as well as Facebook to help families save money. The night you visited us was probably one of our busiest nights of the year, we do recommend that if you want to fully enjoy your trip to plan a weeknight when the crowds aren't as large. We wish we had a way of controlling our weather, but sometimes mother nature will not cooperate. Plan on bundling up if it is cold or if possible, plan a date the week of that is nice and warm (if possible). We have many expansions coming your way in the future and hope your will find it worth it to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having first visited Edavile (RAILROAD) in 1959, and almost every year since, especially the Christmas Light Festival, I can truthfully say that the best of what it was is gone. First, the steam locomotives are gone, except for one which usually is put up for repairs. The steam trains were the most nostalgic part of the experience. At the busiest time of the day at Christmas, there were 3 or 4 steam powered trains running one behind the other. And, the trip was 5 miles long. Now 2/3 of that mileage has been torn up and a housing development built in its place.

So now what you have is a kiddie amusement park with a short diesel powered train ride.

Anyone over 30 who remembers the REAL Edaville Railroad will be disappointed with today's Edaville U.S.A. park. Visit at your own risk.

2  Thank railroadBeverly_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdavilleUSA, Manager at Edaville Family Theme Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting us. Edaville has certainly overcome some changes from 1959 to its closing in 1991 and again at its re-opening in 1999 to present day. Most of the rolling stock and engines were sold to Maine Narrow Gauge RR and the track was shortened to 2 miles in 2006. Due to the economy and many factors, Edaville has changed since then. Amusement rides were brought in to make Edaville more of a family-friendly park, where children and parents could have fun. We do have an active steam engine that has been running Sunday through Wednesday throughout the Christmas Festival of Lights. We also have a custom steam engine being built and expect it to be delivered in the Summer. Edaville is a 3rd and 4th generation family park, always has been and always will be. Nostalgia is still here and it is our through renovations and expansions, as well as your comments, to bring back even more nostalgia to Edaville. We certainly can't make it what it used to by, but we are making it the best that we can in hopes that you will support us. We hope that you can give us another try in the future. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to e-mail us at info@edaville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's a nice event. Jump on the Trains and take a tour to view the christmas light display. Watch the workers carve wooden bears out of a tree truck. Feast on Christmas Treats. It's a tradition that I look foward to every year.

2  Thank CodyPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdavilleUSA, Manager at Edaville Family Theme Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad you were able to enjoy your time here at Edaville and continue to do so yearly. Please check back with us on our website for our season pass specials as this sounds like something that may interest you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We try to get here once a year. The lights are beautiful at Christmas, and although the rides are geared to smaller kids, my kids 8 and 11 still had a lot of fun. Overall a fun family outing.

2  Thank spbos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdavilleUSA, Manager at Edaville Family Theme Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting us. Glad to hear you enjoy the Christmas Festival of Lights. We are planning on adding some family oriented rides for all to enjoy. This is one of the best times for all types of families and ages to visit. Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edaville Family Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Edaville Family Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing