We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful state park”

Great Brook Farm State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Carlisle
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful state park”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We come with our three year old often. Great Brook has many trails, a large grassy area with picnic tables, a pond with fish and frogs to watch, and clean restrooms on site. Best of all, though, is the on site dairy farm complete with delicious homemade ice cream! There are rabbits, cows, chickens, goats and pigs to look at and feed for the kids, and lots of indoor or outdoor seating at the ice cream stand for families. There is a $2 parking fee. I highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amanda6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Mosquito Haven”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I wasn't overly impressed with Great Brook Farm. It was a bit of a wet day but my partner and I and our Basenji were hopeful that we'd find some great trails. We found a ton of aggressive mosquitoes that plagued us for the entire walk. Not fun at all. We did two trails and were not that impressed. There were some nice hills but it was mostly flat. The location was packed with people so you were surrounded by other's conversations and noise which isn't really our thing. I suppose it's probably better on a summer day and sans the mosquitoes. It was a bit out of the way to get to and we're not fans of paying to park. Looks like it's well kept which is a plus. I don't see us going out of our way to go there again with so many nicer state parks in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank quiet_wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I love the variety of trails and the ice cream for post-walk treat! We head over here any time we want to go for a walk... One of our regular choices for a family outing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord,MA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“If you don't own cross country skis or even if you do”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

this is a great place with miles of trails. Be aware that on weekend after new snow fall it can be extremely crowded- not really a problem if you take to the more advanced woodland trails- but it can be a challenge in the parking lot from mid morning to say 3 pm. Lantern night skiing available.
Personally if you own skis I would head to Minute Man Battle Road, Nashatuc Hill (conservation), Estabrook or other parks to x-ski- but if you don't own skis this is a good place to rent and take off.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great destination for walks, mountain bike rides, dog hikes”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

With almost 1000 acres of conservation land, Great Brook State Park is a terrific destination for families or individuals looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of the city. There are countless wooded paths to explore on foot or on mountain bike, and it's a dog-friendly place for the most part. Bring your bug spray, as the mosquitoes can be ferocious. At the end of your stroll, stop by the ice cream stand or take a tour of the "cows under glass" in the nearby barn.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Brook Farm State Park also viewed

 

Been to Great Brook Farm State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing