We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old cold and hard cupcakes..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy's Fine Cakes & Pastry - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ivy's Fine Cakes & Pastry
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old cold and hard cupcakes..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

All three cupcakes we ordered were hard and cold as if they've been left out for HOURS, maybe even days in the refrigerated display.. Haven't gone back since my visit and wouldn't recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Cambrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stale!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are local to the area and love our sweet treats! We just can't go here any more. It is clear that they leave the product out until it is sold. It's hit or miss. If you catch it at the right time, the cookies & cupcakes are great. Just beware, they will leave them out long enough to be down right nasty!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouBoston27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Average at best. The middle aged women who work there during school hours are either really depressed or in a bad mood. There is never enough staff. You always have to wait forever just to get a cookie because there is one person helping a line of people and another helping someone order a cake or pay for a cake. I bought a cake from the display window and it was stale. I wonder how long desserts sit there? I complained and they do not respond. Apparently they cannot be bothered or are too offended. I ordered a chocolate cream pie. There was too much pudding and too little whipped cream. It tasted like a pie shell you buy at the supermarket and Jello pudding. If you are in Cobbs Corner and want a treat, go to Hilliards. They have great candy and an icecream bar open 6 months out of the year. Or, just go to McDonalds for a shake, just don't go here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just average for a bakery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have never seen a half moon that was so much cake and the chocolate frosting had a strange taste. The other pastries are just okay considering "fine cakes & pastry " is part of their name. I have bought half moons and pastries at Roche Brothers supermarket and they are better tasting for around the same price. If you are looking for a real bakery then visit Mike's Bakery in the North End,Boston,Mass.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1965Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Their pastries are excellent. The people behind the counter are knowledgable and friendly. I like their chocolate eclairs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivy's Fine Cakes & Pastry also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing