We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic things to see!”
Review of Cape Cod Canal

Cape Cod Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Cape Cod Summer Day Trip from Boston Including Sightseeing Cruise
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Fall on Cape Cod: Day Trip from Boston with Sightseeing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic things to see!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The canal has boats, boats and boats as well as wildlife, birds, lobsters, crabs, striped bass and even dolphins!!! (Saw several pod a few years back)
Sitting alongside the canal, walking or taking it in on your bike the canal is a wondrf way to spend the day

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poikelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“great place for biking on a sunny day”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family and I were looking for something to do outside---thought we would check this place out for some outdoor fun and to get some exercise. The bike path starts in bourne goes about 7 miles on a flat scenic service. You can bike at your own pace. The parking lot gets crowded so get there early. We saw many people walking, rollerblading and biking on the path.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Argusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome place to walk and bike ride!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The canal is a great place to come for a walk/bike ride. When I was a kid we used to lobster off here too. Get an ice cream at Friendly's, park under the Sagamore bridge, sit on the rocks and watch the boats!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumrtyme1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the Canal!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The canal is a great place to bring family for a walk or a bike ride. Very long, paved and easy access from many parking areas located along either side of the canal. Bring a bag lunch and eat at one of the picnic areas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josefresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bike, Walk or Blade.....this is the place.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The bike trail along the Cape Cod Canal is one of the best there is. It is seven miles from end to end and not too hilly. The trail is very well maintained by the Park Service. I like to rollerblade the trail, but you will see many walkers and bikers. There are multiple places to park and restrooms are available near the railroad bridge end, the middle, and near the Sagamore Bridge. Water fountains are available at the rest rooms. It's a good idea to keep yourself hydrated on a hot day. Wind can be a factor sometimes and makes biking and skating challenging in one direction or another. There are plenty of places to sit and picnic along the trail as well, and shade can be found on a sunny day. One of my favorite places on Earth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danh234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Canal also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cod Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing