We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shrimp and lobster sauce”
Review of Way Ho

Way Ho
Ranked #19 of 38 Restaurants in Buzzards Bay
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
cape cod
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best shrimp and lobster sauce”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The quantity and quality of the food at this restaurant has been consistently very good in the years I have been eating there. I usually have the same things: a cold Tsing Tsau (sp?) beer and the shrimp and lobster sauce (which comes with a nice bowl of white rice). I have sampled other dishes however and have never been disappointed.The shrimp dish is large enough so that I can make two meals of it. The Asian staff are very efficient altho not particularly warm. The owner/mgr (Benny), however, is almost always there to greet the clientele and seat them in a very friendly manner. He's a very committed Patriots and Red Sox fan so you can often hear him voicing joy or anguish, depending on what his favorite team is doing. If you sit in the front room near the bar, you are going to be looking at a sport's event on their large TV. The back dining room has a bit more atmosphere and is usually quieter except for groups who may be celebrating some occasion. They do a lot of repeat business and many locals go there so you know that they are doing a number of things right. They have been there for many years and have survived hard times when other restaurants in the area closed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iosilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese restaurant I have ever been to.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very loud. Service was slow.
Food had no flavor.
Chow Mien looked and tasted like slop. Meat was fatty.
What a waste of money. Ate some but left the rest behind. When do you not take Chinese home? It was that bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Disappointed”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

First time I ate at Way Ho was in 2003 and the food was really good. Each time I have returned to the area since the food has continued to decline in quality and each time I blamed my choice as the problem. Yesterday, after a miserable meal, I made the decision to give up on this restaurant. The sweet and sour pork sauce was made with maraschino cherries, vinegar and pineapple. I didn't know it was possible for something with such a strong, unpleasant, vinegar taste to be so sickeningly sweet. Much to my dismay when I pulled the breading off the pork what I saw looked just like the dog I inadvertently ate in Asia - YUCK!!! I'm not saying it was dog, just saying it looked nothing like any pork I've ever eaten or prepared.

The only reason I didn't give this restaurant one-star was because the crab rangoon was still very good, however, not good enough to waste my time or money in this restaurant again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
530 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“A new favorite!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spotted this as we were driving around the rotary to the Cape and stopped in. Horrible parking right on the rotary, but SO worth it! It is small with a tiny diningroom and even smaller bar, but the food was amazing!! We are basic people and ordered a poo poo platter, pork fried rice, beef with broccoli and beef chow mein. This was the freshed chinese food I have ever eaten. The service was lukewarm, but who cares when the food is so good. I wanted to pack it up and take it home on the plane with me. GO HERE!! Bourne Rotary, directly off of it and parking in back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenmareLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“China just off Cape”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Very good lunch menu. Good service. Very nice atmosphere. I've been here a dozen times and was happy every time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Way Ho also viewed

 
Buzzards Bay, Bourne
 

Been to Way Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing