We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fried Clams”

Barlow's Clam Shack
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Buzzards Bay
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
Description: they are on yelp and well known in the area quality seafood
Restaurant details
Description: they are on yelp and well known in the area quality seafood
New England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Fried Clams”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Of the two clam shacks located across from the Cape Cod Canal, this is the better of the two. The clams are tasty and not over cooked or chewy. Pricing is good for the quantity you receive. I
Service is good and friendly, except for the owner/manager, has both indoor and outdoor seating areas, as well as indoor restroom unlike competitor down the street. Deserts are limited, ice cream, pie etc. but are good sized and reasonable.
Will return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AutoPartsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not an "Awesome" Lobster Roll”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had been craving a lobster roll all weekend and on the way home from the Cape we saw the sign for Lobster Rolls. They were pricey at $14.00+ with no taste and lots of shells mixed in. There was quite a bit of lobster but the shells were mixed in with the meat. I don't believe there was any mayonnaise which sometimes can be a good thing rather than too much. I had an order of cole slaw rather than the fries. I opened the cole slaw and it was sour tasting and smelled sour. This was definetly passed it's expiration date. I would not stop here for a lobster roll, there are plenty of places along the route to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldensRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute cape cod seafood shack!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in on our trip home from the cape on 6/29/13, because we wanted to get our last seafood meal in and we are so glad we gave this place a try! It has the small beach town atmosphere I crave and the delicious seafood we both love. We ordered a lobster roll to share, stuffed quahogs, and an order of clam strips. We got it to go and when we opened everything up we were so shocked to see how huge the portions were! The lobster was abundant for the small price of $13.99 for the roll and fries. We had paid double the price for everything anywhere else we'd dined on the cape. We will return every year to barlows!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethebeachxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“What a deal for a Sundae afternoon bite June 2nd, 2013.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Cape Cod Canal park across the street, then stopped by for a $4 Hot Fudge Sundae, complete with walnuts and a cherry on top of whipped cream ! Turns out that was dinner as we headed home from there, with a great taste in our mouths from our Caramel and Hot Fudge delights. Next time I'm getting the clams. Pleasant older woman served us and even gave us a large glass of ice water. Thank you !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5inavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stop for a Lobster roll”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

For only 13.99 we got the freshest roll of jam packed lobster with better than average onion rings. Sat outside on a picnic table in the sun, a small cone for only 3 bucks was an old fadhioned price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SavoyNewHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlow's Clam Shack also viewed

 
Buzzards Bay, Bourne
 

Been to Barlow's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing