We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Barlow's Clam Shack
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Buzzards Bay
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
Description: they are on yelp and well known in the area quality seafood
Restaurant details
Description: they are on yelp and well known in the area quality seafood
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great, cozy fish shack. Clean. Great lobster rolls and fried clams. Beatiful view of cape cod canal as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Curwensville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Appetizer of Clam Cakes, Where's The Clams”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Barlow's calls them clam fritters instead of clam cakes and they are the size of a half dollar, abt $5. We received 9 of them and we each received 1 itty bitty clam out of all 9 which is awful for a seafood district. They are flavorful, nice service, clean, small, has a gift shop with new, vintage and antique items. It is directly across the busy street of the canal. I would like to go back and try their clam strips.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpiritsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food by the canal”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I eat here several times a year and the people are very friendly, place is clean and nicely decorated, and the food is great. They know their seafood! Portions are generous and very fresh, the slaw has no onions (contrary to another reviewer, who has it confused with the place down the road), and they have ice cream! You can sit indoors or out, and there's a bathroom and a gift shop featuring beautiful handmade shell wreaths.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodgroup_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BEST clam boat around! Very fresh!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Saw older lady but we were served by a very nice young lady. Service was quick and good and fresh even cheese burger was excellent. Nice quick stop right off bridge. Yummy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty Old Lady...”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stopped in to get a quick lunch to go. We were towing a trailer and my husband parked out in front. The whole time I was waiting for the food, the old hag (not sure if she was the owner or not) sat there. After purchasing 3 (lousy) lobster rolls, I brought them back to the car and the lady comes out complaining rudely because of where we were parked. Never did she mention it the whole time I was in there - I guess she was waiting to biT$$ until she had my money. Try to be a little nicer to your customers and maybe they will come back. Had she asked nicely, it would have not been a problem. I can't say enough about the nice two young girls working in there were very sweet. The owner (if its not the old hag) might want to rethink that woman working there. Even if your food WAS good (which it wasn't) customer service is the KEY to return vistors.

The lobster tasted like it had been hanging around a little while, the rolls were cold and stale. there was another shack up the street which I have stopped at over the years and will definately try that again. Don't waste your time or your money on this crap place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlow's Clam Shack also viewed

 
Buzzards Bay, Bourne
 

Been to Barlow's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing