We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higher end property but needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Marriott Burlington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Higher end property but needs some work”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was excited to stay in this property as I got it at a very good rate. It is quite expansive, and if you park in the lower lots it is a hike to the main lobby. The lobby is inviting with a beautiful extended fireplace complete with cookies and infused water off to the side. I was on the top floor but my room seemed a bit worn and could use some refurbishing. The concierge lounge had everything you could need with very attentive and friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location close to many restaurants and things to see. I will stay here again when in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRDNDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy you were able to enjoy your visit and found our recently upgraded lobby area inviting. Your feedback regarding your accommodations are appreciated and they will be shared with our team as we continually refresh our commitment to our guests. We are happy you liked our central location and we hope to welcome you back to the Boston Marriott Burlington again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    296
    132
    57
    31
See reviews for
199
157
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We were attending a conference here so decided to stay and take advantage of the great rate of $94/night that was offered to conference goers. Our room was in the basement so it was super small. There was no bar fridge which really let us down considering we were spending a week there. The lobby and restaurant was beautiful but the music was SO loud that we couldn't enjoy sitting in the bar at night. The wifi was RIDICULOUSLY overpriced. We didn't rent a car so there no NO amenities within close walking distance - the mall was about a 25min walk and we didn't know until AFTER that we could have asked for a shuttle ride. Staff were friendly and room was clean which was probably the only plus. Definitely wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMatthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to share your perspective with us. When choosing to stay at our hotel, our team is always available to address any concerns you may have. We regret we missed the mark on ensuring your visit was anything less than excellent. Your comments will be reviewed with our team as we continually refresh our commitment to our guests. For any future visits, our Superior and Concierge level rooms do include our high-speed internet service. Complete details are available on our website. It is our hope to welcome you back so we may restore your confidence and trust in us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

First, the good: The property is well located, just off Interstate 95, and near a broad range of high tech and healthcare companies. It is adjacent to the Lahey Clinic. Many of the staff, particularly in housekeeping, the new Chops restaurant, the shuttle drivers, and some at the front desk, are helpful and nice.

And the not so good.... The hallways and rooms are severely dated, with a 1970s feel. The concierge lounge, while the staff is very nice, is dated in appearance, overcrowded, and offers barely edible food. The acoustics of the oddly renovated lobby make it almost impossible to carry on a normal conversation, either at the front desk, or in the very limited seating area. The renovated so-called business center has several computers, of which only one was functioning. Oddly, the computers are set to allow only 15 minutes of time, and then reset, making any kind of work very difficult.

I have been visiting this hotel for over 15 years, and have noted a significant decline in service, and amenities, over the last 2-3 years, while at the same time prices during the week have continued to increase to ludicrous and stratospheric levels ( over $350/ night).

Several months ago, after a series of service breakdowns made for a miserable stay, my repeated attempts to contact the General Manager did not receive any response whatsoever. The management of the property seem generally invisible in any case.

It's sadly reflective of the property's soulless approach to service that these reviews are either ignored, or responded to in chirpy, generic tones, highlighting any positive input, and simply brushing off the rest with some generic form sentences, but never specifics about action taken, or changes made.

In sum, there are better, and certainly better-value, properties nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
While we appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel, it is truly disheartening to read comments like yours. We have recently renovated our hotel lobby area to include areas for our guests to relax and unwind. I appreciate your feedback regarding the noise levels and will work with our entertainment personnel to ensure a more comfortable atmosphere for our guests. We review all of our guests comments in order to better understand any concerns, suggestions or overall experiences. We regret that we missed the mark on ensuring your visits were anything less than excellent. We regret any delay in reaching out to you. Should you wish to discuss any concerns further, please reach out to us directly. We hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Easy to find, right off hywy. With no traffic, about 20 min ride to Boston. Lobby and reception areas very nice, but a bit on the loud side with the restaurant and moderate amount of guest traffic. I found every single staff member to be pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. The room itself was a little smaller than I would've liked but was clean and welcoming with a crisp, modern decor (except the 80's style mirrored closet doors). Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Bathroom was sparkling clean, but there's no exhaust fan or towel holder to dry towels.. Nice large LCD TV, but no channel guide (we weren't there for the TV , so it wasn't a big deal for us). Gym had plenty of equipment & they offer headphones. The biggest reason we chose this location was the indoor & outdoor pools. Unfortunately, there wasn't a great opportunity for us to use either. During our stay, there happened to be a large conference with a large number of families & children. Each time we went to the pool, even after 9pm, it was pretty crowded with the wee ones. Having said that, we did have a number of families with small children near our room on the 4th floor and we never heard any "extra" noise. If planning to stay, I'd recommend choosing the "breakfast included" option. Very much worth the extra fee. I just wished they would've served breakfast until 11 instead of 10.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and have no complaints as far as noise. The other couple stayed on 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read you had a great time here, however, we regret that we did not exceed your expectations on every level. While there are times when our pool area is busier, we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Feedback like yours helps us to better understand the needs of our guests. We hope you will have the chance to visit us again so we may restore your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just checked in and paying over 330 a night. Got stuck in a 1st floor (basement) room and got greeted by a bug crawling around my bathroom. Not a great reception. I would make sure and verify the location of your room before checking in. This is a crowded hotel and even with a gold status at Marriott, I was given one of the worst rooms in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamirVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a stay that exceeds their expectations and we regret that we missed the mark providing you with an excellent experience. Our team is available to assist with any concerns and we are confident we would have been able to place you in a room that best met your needs. It is our hope to welcome you back so we may restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed three nights at Boston Marriott Burlington with my three nieces. The experience didn't start off particularly well as there seemed to be a problem with having four in a room; we booked through Hotwire, which guarantees that when you ask for it, unlike some of the other booking services. If a hotel doesn't want one to use Hotwire, you would think the easiest thing to do would be not to be associated with it, no? When we got to the room, we saw why they didn't want to put four to a room: the beds were the smallest I've seen in quite some time. Good thing my nieces are tiny!

I don't really blame the staff for their shortness at that point, as the lobby was so incredibly noisy it sounded like a preschool had been let loose in there.

The location worked fine for our purposes, as we wanted one day in Boston and one in Concord area; it's quite close to Concord, and an easy drive in to Boston Common parking...on a Sunday, at least.

Overall, it was an average stay in an okay location. (A final touch that had me raising my eyebrows was the "begging envelope" from housekeeping. Kinda sad. And no, it doesn't say that it's for tips, but why else would there be an envelope with the message?)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are delighted you found our central location made it easy for you to explore the area. We are located near many area attractions, historical sites, restaurants and shopping. When staying with us, our guests have a variety of room types to choose from and we regret we missed the mark on ensuring your visit was anything less than excellent. Our website is the best resource when determining which accommodations meet your needs. Thank you for sharing your perspective. Comments like yours help us to better understand the needs of our guests. It is our hope to welcome you back so we may restore your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The lobby was perfect, the lobby bar just begged me to come in for a drink, the room felt luxurious, and the lounge was superb. This is what I expect from a quality Marriott hotel when I am traveling on business. Serious enough that I can get my work done without having to drown out the noisy families and partiers, fun enough that I can join the vacationers in the evening if I choose.

The room was like all proper modern Marriott hotels, which is to say, ideal for my needs. My only real complaint is Marriott's In-Room Entertainment. Watching SD programming in 16:9 with black bars stretched to fit into a 16:9 TV is just stupid. All the actors look short and fat and I cannot read most of the text on the screen, which can be important in some cases. Why, in 2014, Marriott cannot figure out that all the rooms have 16:9 LCD TVs and program the source to match them is beyond me. I know it is a simple thing to do.

Otherwise, this was an excellent hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It was a pleasure to have had you here. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a range of amenities, including our new Marriott Great Room with multiple areas to relax, meet with associates or enjoy a bite to eat. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the televisions in our rooms. Comments like yours help us to better understand the needs of our guests. It is our hope to welcome you back to the Boston Marriott Burlington soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
1.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Burlington

Property: Boston Marriott Burlington
Address: 1 Burlington Mall Rd, Burlington, MA 01803-4195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in Burlington
#4 Business Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce our hotel is undergoing a renovation. The hotel is fully operational during its current guestroom and facade renovation program. While all services continue, this project will enhance curb appeal and result in a brand new guestroom experience in Spring 2017. Discover a respite all your own at the recently renovated Boston Marriott Burlington. Luxurious new amenities, a result of our multi million dollar renovation of the lobby and public spaces, are offered to all our Burlington, MA hotel's guests. Choose your pleasure from our 418-room hotel, appointed with 14,570 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and banquet space, ideal for business travelers. Host parties, meetings and events in the Celebrate Ballroom, a stunning event space onsite. Unwind in our elegant lobby, offering an inviting fireplace, as well as a large communal table, bar, widescreen TVs, original artwork, and plenty of space to connect. Savor American cuisine, including natural, organic steaks and freshly caught seafood at Chopps American Bar & Grill. The Terrace at CHOPPS is a brand new outdoor space offering an open air option for groups and restaurant patrons alike. Reserve your stay online today, and start daydreaming about your next getaway at one of the leading Burlington, MA hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Burlington Hotel Burlington
Marriott Burlington
Burlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing